View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Social Network

At Home
  • Draft Day

  • Transcendence

  • Ruby Sparks

  • The Social Network

  • Growing Op

  • The Great Buck Howard

  • I Want Someone to Eat Cheese With

  • Little Miss Sunshine

  • Vital Signs

  • On Edge

1 of 10

Wallace Langham Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Mar 11, 1965
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

HBO enthusiasts will invariably remember character actor Wallace Langham for his winning multi-season portrayal of Phil, the conceited head writer of Larry Sanders' late-night talk show, on the [[Performer~P64771~Garry Shandling~garryshandling]]-headlined sitcom [[Feature~V263257~The Larry Sanders Show~thelarrysandersshow[tvseries]]]. Langham (who first received billing in projects as [[Performer~P74669~Wally Ward~wallyward]]) grew up in Los Angeles; his parents divorced at an early age and his mother, Sunni, designed costumes for the musical variety series [[Feature~V384453~Donny and Marie~donnyandmarie[tvseries]]]. Langham was, by all accounts, drawn magnetically to showbusiness; he enrolled in acting classes, signed with an agent, and landed a string of television commercials beginning at age 16 (in 1981). After high school, Langham enrolled briefly in Cal State Northridge, but dropped out after snagging a bit part in [[Performer~P95115~John Hughes~johnhughes]]' teenage sci-fi comedy [[Feature~V53789~Weird Science~weirdscience]] (1985).

Scattered appearances on such series as [[Feature~V280674~Murder, She Wrote~murdershewrote[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V263074~Star Trek: Voyager~startrek:voyager[tvseries]]] followed -- as well as the recurring role of Josh, smart-alecky assistant to lingerie proprietor Veronica on the [[Performer~P1093~Kirstie Alley~kirstiealley]] sitcom [[Feature~V324107~Veronica's Closet~veronicascloset[tvseries]]]. It was the [[Performer~P64771~Shandling~garryshandling]] turn, however, that put Langham on top of his game. He made occasional feature appearances in such pictures as the [[Performer~P89040~Nora Ephron~noraephron]] comedy-fantasy [[Feature~V136443~Michael~michael]] (1996) opposite [[Performer~P71670~John Travolta~johntravolta]], the [[Performer~P51440~Eddie Murphy~eddiemurphy]] vehicle [[Feature~V276085~Daddy Day Care~daddydaycare]] (2003), the ensemble comedy drama [[Feature~V335018~Little Miss Sunshine~littlemisssunshine]] (2006), the award-winning The Social Network and 2012's Ruby Sparks but -- outside of [[Feature~V263257~Larry Sanders~thelarrysandersshow[tvseries]]] -- he is probably best known for his fine work on the series drama [[Feature~V220880~CSI: Crime Scene Investigation~csi:crimesceneinvestigation[tvseries]]]. On that program, Langham sustained a multi-season portrayal as lab technician David Hodges. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi