Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Vincent Spano doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Baby It's You

  • The Prince and the Pauper: The Movie

  • Over the Edge

  • The Double McGuffin

  • A Brooklyn State of Mind

  • Oscar

  • The Black Stallion Returns

  • Alphabet City

  • No Strings Attached

  • Alive

1 of 10

Vincent Spano Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Oct 18, 1962
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Since his 1983 breakout role as an Irish-Catholic misfit nicknamed "The Sheik" opposite [[Performer~P2417~Rosanna Arquette~rosannaarquette]] in [[Feature~V3581~Baby It's You~babyitsyou]], Vincent Spano has proved himself a versatile and skilled actor to those who have followed his career. Spano had begun acting in a professional capacity by the age of 14, when he starred in a 1977 theater production of The Shadow Box, and landed a small Broadway role two years later in The Double McGuffin. Though audiences had expected Spano to rise along with the other budding stars of his time, particularly after a critical nod for his role in [[Performer~P85868~Francis Ford Coppola~francisfordcoppola]]'s [[Feature~V42295~Rumble Fish~rumblefish]] (1983) and appearances in several popular 1980s teen films, Spano opted against the high-profile stardom he could have easily pursued in favor of taking on a variety of unique but decidedly less flashy roles.

Unfortunately, most of those roles ended up buried within otherwise unremarkable movies; this was the case with his portrayal of a bewildered graduate assistant in [[Feature~V11474~Creator~creator]] (1985), as was his performance in Russian director [[Performer~P97846~Andrei Konchalovsky~andreikonchalovsky]]'s first American film, [[Feature~V31429~Maria's Lovers~mariaslovers]] (1984). Luckily, Spano received no small amount of praise for his contribution to [[Feature~V20307~Good Morning, Babylon~goodmorningbabylon]] (1987), an Italian/American/French collaboration that chronicled the efforts of an Italian cathedral builder's (Spano) complicated emigration to the United States. After filming several foreign features, Spano turned in a solid performance as the good-hearted but emotionally lost New Jersey native in [[Performer~P110025~John Sayles~johnsayles]]' urban drama [[Feature~V9763~City of Hope~cityofhope]] (1991), and went on to star alongside [[Performer~P31094~Ethan Hawke~ethanhawke]] in the hotly anticipated cannibalistic docudrama [[Feature~V1531~Alive~alive]] (1993).

Though significant mainstream recognition continued to elude him, Spano nonetheless continued to exhibit an admirable willingness to try anything when it came to selecting roles. Whether it was as a rogue government agent (1996's [[Feature~V162108~Downdraft~downdraft]]) or the excruciatingly macho brother of an AIDS victim (1998's [[Feature~V162752~The Unknown Cyclist~theunknowncyclist]]), Spano continued to impress fans with his wide-ranging capabilities. After filming several horror films and psychological thrillers during the early 2000s, Spano was given a warm reception for his performance as a "justice fighter" in the Sci-Fi channel's feature-length pilot [[Feature~V287193~Deathlands: Homeward Bound~deathlands:homewardbound]]. ~ Tracie Cooper, Rovi

Advertisement