Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Kung Fu Panda 2

  • Sleepless in Seattle

1 of 2
At Home
  • Argo

  • Take Me Home

  • Kung Fu Panda 2

  • You Again

  • Milk

  • Titanic

  • Home Room

  • Jeffrey

  • Life with Mikey

  • Tuck Everlasting

1 of 10

Victor Garber Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Mar 16, 1949
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Broadway actor Victor Garber was born on March 16th, 1940 in London, Ontario, Canada. Through years of working on-stage, he has earned several Tony and Drama Desk nominations. He earned his first Obie award for his performance in Wenceslas Square at the 1988 New York Shakespeare Festival. Some of his other stage credits include Macbeth, Sweeney Todd, Damn Yankees, and [[Performer~P296990~Yasmina Reza~yasminareza]]'s Art. After playing Jesus on-stage in Toronto, Garber reprised his role in [[Performer~P92483~David Greene~davidgreene]]'s 1973 film musical [[Feature~V93405~Godspell~godspell]]. He joined [[Performer~P92483~Greene~davidgreene]] again to play the lead in [[Feature~V127013~Liberace: Behind the Music~liberace:behindthemusic]] (1988).

Staying busy with theater, Garber occasionally acts in supporting roles on the big screen. He appeared in two of [[Performer~P89040~Nora Ephron~noraephron]]'s feature comedies: [[Feature~V45166~Sleepless in Seattle~sleeplessinseattle]] (1993) and [[Feature~V133565~Mixed Nuts~mixednuts]] (1994). He also appeared in the tense drama [[Feature~V134260~Exotica~exotica]] in 1994, directed by fellow Canadian [[Performer~P88743~Atom Egoyan~atomegoyan]]. Throughout the '90s and beyond, he appeared in countless TV movies, from [[Feature~V162906~Woman on the Run: The Lawrencia Bembenek Story~womanontherun:thelawrenciabembenekstory]] (1993) to [[Feature~V260746~Torso: The Evelyn Dick Story~torso:theevelyndickstory]] (2002). Some of his mainstream feature appearances include small parts in [[Feature~V154488~The First Wives Club~thefirstwivesclub]], [[Feature~V158894~Titanic~titanic]], and [[Feature~V246684~Legally Blonde~legallyblonde]]. Meanwhile, he regularly appeared in a Canadian television mystery series, Criminal Instincts, based on the novels by [[Performer~P336730~Gail Bowen~gailbowen]], starting with the first installment Love and Murder in 2000. He played Inspector Phillip Menard to head police detective Joanne Kilborne ([[Performer~P15759~Wendy Crewson~wendycrewson]]). He also had a very comfortable home in Disney movies during this time, as he played the dad in [[Feature~V266883~Tuck Everlasting~tuckeverlasting]], the king in [[Feature~V160176~Rodgers & Hammerstein's Cinderella~rodgershammersteinscinderella]], and Daddy Warbucks in [[Performer~P278460~Rob Marshall~robmarshall]]'s 1999 TV feature [[Feature~V182425~Annie~annie]].

In 2001, Garber was cast as another dad in the dramatic spy series [[Feature~V255661~Alias~alias[tvseries]]]. He played Jack Bristow, the CIA agent dad of Sydney Bristow ([[Performer~P230436~Jennifer Garner~jennifergarner]]). He earned an Emmy nomination for his work on the show. Characters for 2003 included a mayor in the ABC musical [[Feature~V282247~The Music Man~themusicman]] and a detective in the independent drama [[Feature~V289075~Home Room~homeroom]]. The actor continued his work in Alias until 2005, and enjoyed further success on the television series’ Justice and Eli Stone. In 2008, the actor took on the role of Mayor Moscone for the Academy Award-winning Milk, and lent his voice to Kung Fu Panda 2 in 2011. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement