Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Transformers: The Last Knight

  • The Fate of the Furious

  • Fast & Furious 6

  • Fast Five

1 of 4
At Home
  • Ride Along 2

  • Furious 7

  • Black Nativity

  • Fast & Furious 6

  • Fast Five

  • Transformers: Dark of the Moon

  • Legion

  • Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

  • Death Race

  • Transformers

1 of 10

Tyrese Gibson Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Dec 30, 1978
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: Tyrese Darnell Gibson

An L.A. native whose self-titled debut album quickly propelled him to the top of the charts, smooth-voiced R&B crooner Tyrese (born Tyrese Gibson on December 30th, 1978) immediately stood out from the pack, thanks to the remarkable honesty of his songwriting, his alluring passion, and his self-assured style behind the microphone. It was at the age of 14 that a series of wins on the local talent circuit gave the up-and-coming singer his first enticing taste of success, with a Coca Cola commercial providing the breakthrough that would soon propel him to release his eponymous debut album in 1998. Of course, anyone who happened to catch Tyrese's Coca Cola commercial couldn't help but notice the singing sensation's undeniable screen presence. After making his acting debut with a small role in acclaimed filmmaker [[Performer~P86772~Julie Dash~juliedash]]'s made-for-television drama [[Feature~V262494~Love Song~lovesong]], the singer-turned-actor jumped headlong into features, as the protagonist of [[Performer~P111663~John Singleton~johnsingleton]]'s [[Feature~V6891~Boyz 'N the Hood~boyznthehood]] follow-up, [[Feature~V246284~Baby Boy~babyboy]]. Cast as an urban mama's boy whose staunch refusal to leave the nest eventually stifles his transition into adulthood, Tyrese offered just the right mixture of naïveté and street-tough bravado to draw audiences in, while showing notable promise for the future. With two films, a hit album, and a series of television appearances in such series as Martin and [[Feature~V249333~Moesha~moesha[tvseries]]] under his belt, Tyrese returned to the music scene for his sophomore effort, {^2000 Watts}, before jumping into the driver's seat for the 2003 film [[Feature~V280222~2 Fast 2 Furious~2fast2furious]]. The following year Tyrese kept the action moving at a clip with a supporting role in [[Feature~V290376~Flight of the Phoenix~flightofthephoenix]] before opting for more dramatic roles in director [[Performer~P202426~Justin Lin~justinlin]]'s [[Feature~V313246~Annapolis~annapolis]] and former collaborator [[Performer~P111663~John Singleton~johnsingleton]]'s family-themed revenge drama [[Feature~V323029~Four Brothers~fourbrothers]]. A supporting role in Better Luck Tomorrow director [[Performer~P202426~Justin Lin~justinlin]]'s Navy boxing misfire [[Feature~V313246~Annapolis~annapolis]] was quickly followed by another headline performance as an ex-convict struggling to get his son back after his vehicle is carjacked with the boy still inside in the 2006 action thriller Waist Deep. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement