Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Interstellar

At Home
  • Don Peyote

  • The Big Wedding

  • The Giant Mechanical Man

  • The Double

  • Take Me Home Tonight

  • Predators

  • Valentine's Day

  • Spider-Man 3

  • In Good Company

  • P.S.

1 of 10

Topher Grace Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jul 12, 1978
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Lanky, personable, and looking for all the world like [[Performer~P79264~Alan Alda~alanalda]]'s long-lost son, Topher Grace made an impressive film debut with his role in [[Feature~V230156~Traffic~traffic]] (2000), [[Performer~P112040~Steven Soderbergh~stevensoderbergh]]'s epic and widely acclaimed look at the American war on drugs. Grace received positive notices for his work in the film, which cast him as a cocky prep-school boy who turns his girlfriend ([[Performer~P230317~Erika Christensen~erikachristensen]]) on to heroin and cocaine. The role marked a drastic departure from the young actor's regular job on the popular Fox sitcom [[Feature~V168207~That '70s Show~that70sshow[tvseries]]], where he portrayed Eric Forman, a level-headed and predominantly wholesome high school student coming of age in "Me Decade" Wisconsin.

A native New Yorker, Grace was born in the city on July 12, 1978. Raised in Connecticut and Massachusetts, he began acting in school plays and was a student at New Hampshire's Brewster Academy when his performance in a school production of A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum effectively secured him his first professional job. Among those to see the play were [[Performer~P114741~Bonnie~bonnieturner]] and [[Performer~P114758~Terry Turner~terryturner]], parents of one of Grace's classmates and the would-be producers of [[Feature~V168207~That '70s Show~that70sshow[tvseries]]]. Impressed with the young actor's work in the play, they tapped him for the role of Eric Forman during his freshman year at the University of Southern California. Grace, who had studied acting at the Groundlings Improvisation School and the Neighborhood Playhouse, made his television debut in 1998, winning over both new fans and critical approval. His acclaimed work in [[Feature~V230156~Traffic~traffic]] two years later saw the actor's popularity further increase, acting as another testament to the beginnings of a promising career.

While continuing to appear on [[Feature~V168207~That '70s Show~that70sshow[tvseries]]], Grace remained selective of his film roles. Aside from showing up in a cameo as himself in [[Feature~V230156~Traffic~traffic]] director [[Performer~P112040~Steven Soderbergh~stevensoderbergh]]'s 2001 remake of [[Feature~V255992~Ocean's 11~oceanseleven]], he didn't appear in a film for three years. However, with his supporting turn in the [[Performer~P60634~Julia Roberts~juliaroberts]] drama [[Feature~V283264~Mona Lisa Smile~monalisasmile]], it appeared Grace's film career was building steam.

For his first big-screen starring role, Grace played opposite [[Performer~P322134~Kate Bosworth~katebosworth]] and [[Performer~P362749~Josh Duhamel~joshduhamel]] in the 2004 love-triangle comedy [[Feature~V286548~Win a Date With Tad Hamilton!~winadatewithtadhamilton]], which was mostly well received by critics and audiences. Later in 2004, the young actor could be seen in the ensemble film sophomore effort from [[Feature~V263749~Roger Dodger~rogerdodger]] director [[Performer~P307485~Dylan Kidd~dylankidd]], entitled [[Feature~V294110~P.S.~ps]] Cast as a twentysomething student who appears to be the reincarnation of an older woman's deceased high-school sweetheart, Grace offered a sense of soulful gravity to the under-seen romantic fantasy before rounding out his breakthrough year with a powerful performance as an ambitious young executive whose sense of synergy sets the boardroom ablaze in [[Feature~V305232~In Good Company~ingoodcompany]]. In the short span of just one year, Grace had proven himself capable of believably playing both a lovelorn Piggly Wiggly manager who can't muster the courage to express his love to the woman of his dreams, and an overambitious white-collar powerhouse who discovers something called a soul after casually assuming the position coveted by an experienced ad man twice his age. Whereas most actors of his generation would have been happy doing teen comedies and cashing in on the success of [[Feature~V168207~That '70s Show~that70sshow[tvseries]]], it was obvious that Grace was opting for quality over quantity in making his transition to the big screen.

After wrapping up his impressive run on [[Feature~V168207~That '70s Show~that70sshow[tvseries]]] in 2006, Grace henceforth chose his roles selectively, speaking often about having little hunger for fame, but a big appetite for interesting, fun, or challenging projects. He would appear in a number of feature films over the coming years, ranging form big budge action adventure fare, like Spiderman 3, to lighthearted comedies like Take Me Home Tonight, to offbeat, independent projects, like The Giant Mechanical Man. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement