Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Wayne's World 2

At Home
  • Revenge of the Nerds

  • Young Doctors in Love

  • Troop Beverly Hills

  • Physical Evidence

  • Daybreak

  • Wayne's World 2

  • Major League: Back To The Minors

  • Dick

1 of 8

Ted McGinley Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: May 30, 1958
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Dividing his time more or less equally between big- and small-screen work, actor Ted McGinley enjoyed a considerably successful tenure as a character player, almost always appearing as beefcake heartthrob types. He began his career in the early '80s, with small roles in [[Performer~P101401~Garry Marshall~garrymarshall]]'s satirical farce [[Feature~V55970~Young Doctors in Love~youngdoctorsinlove]] (1982) and the lurid [[Performer~P14235~Joan Collins~joancollins]] telemovie [[Feature~V127252~Making of a Male Model~makingofamalemodel]] (1983), but achieved his first significant break in the sitcom venue, as English teacher-cum-basketball coach Roger Phillips on the final four seasons of [[Feature~V280678~Happy Days~happydays[tvseries]]] (1980-1984). Fortuitously, at about the same time that [[Feature~V280678~Days~happydays[tvseries]]] folded, the producers of [[Feature~V30278~The Love Boat~theloveboat[tvseries]]] (on the same network, ABC) tapped McGinley to play photographer Ace Evans -- a last-ditch attempt to save the program from sagging ratings. The strategy ultimately failed when [[Feature~V30278~Boat~theloveboat[tvseries]]] ended its lengthy run in 1986, but in the meantime, McGinley landed what became a recurring role as jock Stan in the first three installments of [[Feature~V313201~Revenge of the Nerds~revengeofthenerds[filmseries]]].

Eventually, McGinley also joined the cast of the long-running [[Feature~V286471~Married...With Children~marriedwithchildren[tvseries]]] from 1991 through 1997, playing chauvinistic layabout Jefferson D'Arcy (second husband of the Bundys' neighbor Marcy Rhoades), and essayed roles in theatrical films including [[Feature~V38043~Physical Evidence~physicalevidence]] (1989), [[Feature~V119905~Wayne's World 2~waynesworld2]] (1993), and [[Feature~V180401~Dick~dick]] (1999). The late '90s and 2000s found McGinley evincing a heightened presence in television once again, first on [[Performer~P112161~Aaron Sorkin~aaronsorkin]]'s critically worshipped yet short-lived seriocomedy [[Feature~V173505~Sports Night~sportsnight[tvseries]]] (1998-1999), then as Charley Shanowski on the sitcom [[Feature~V295556~Hope & Faith~hopefaith[tvseries]]] (2003-2006). In 2008 he competed in the reality program Dancing With the Stars, and in 2010 he appeared in the lighthearted, family-friendly Christmas with a Capital C.

He would reach pop-culture immortality when the website Jumping the Shark named him as one of the signs that a TV show has run out of ideas. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement