Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Ted Kotcheff doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Wake in Fright

  • Tiara Tahiti

  • Switching Channels

  • Billy Two Hats

  • Not Quite Hollywood: The Wild, Untold Story...

  • Who Is Killing the Great Chefs of Europe?

  • Folks!

  • The Apprenticeship of Duddy Kravitz

  • Shattered Glass

  • Fun with Dick and Jane

1 of 10

Ted Kotcheff Biography

  • Profession: Director
  • Born: Apr 7, 1931
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: William Theodore Kotcheff

Canadian director Ted Kotcheff cut his teeth on live television in his native country, then moved on to British TV in 1957. While a resident of England, Kotcheff directed his first film, [[Feature~V49896~Tiara Tahiti~tiaratahiti]] (1962), using his full name William T. Kotcheff. Despite an engaging premise about rival hotel owners in Tahiti and a cast including [[Performer~P101610~James Mason~jamesmason]] and [[Performer~P102933~John Mills~johnmills]], [[Feature~V49896~Tiara Tahiti~tiaratahiti]] wasn't a major success. Kotcheff made up for this setback with his next British film, [[Feature~V99493~Life at the Top~lifeatthetop]] (1963), the cynical sequel to 1959's [[Feature~V42075~Room at the Top~roomatthetop]]. For [[Feature~V105221~Outback~wakeinfright]] (1971), Kotcheff took cast and crew to Australia for the fascinating tale of a schoolteacher's experience with a primitive Australian tribe. Back in Canada in 1974, Kotcheff all but single-handedly turned that country's film industry around with [[Feature~V2721~The Apprenticeship of Duddy Kravitz~theapprenticeshipofduddykravitz]], the freewheeling tale of a Jewish lad (played by a pre-star [[Performer~P88268~Richard Dreyfuss~richarddreyfuss]]) aggressively climbing up the social ladder in mid-'40s Montreal. Though based on a Mordecai Richler novel, it was the most autobiographical of Kotcheff's works, and his best to date; Duddy Kravitz also represented the first true box-office hit to emanate from Canada since the silent era. Between this film and Kotcheff's next adaptation of Richler, 1985's [[Feature~V26546~Joshua Then and Now~joshuathenandnow]], the director bided his time in less personal, purely commercial-minded efforts like [[Feature~V18904~Fun with Dick and Jane~funwithdickandjane]] (1977) [[Feature~V54406~Who is Killing the Great Chefs of Europe?~whoiskillingthegreatchefsofeurope]] (1978), and the mother of all Rambo epics, [[Feature~V17472~First Blood~firstblood]] (1982). Since [[Feature~V26546~Joshua Then and Now~joshuathenandnow]], Ted Kotcheff's career has boomed, but his "signature" as a director has been barely recognizable in such factory efforts as [[Feature~V48201~Switching Channels~switchingchannels]] (1988) (the most recent remake of The Front Page) and the two puerile [[Feature~V53753~Weekend at Bernie's~weekendatbernies]] comedies. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement