Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Steven Weber doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • The Big Year

  • My One and Only

  • Farmhouse

  • Choose Connor

  • The Amateurs

  • Dracula: Dead and Loving It

  • Jeffrey

  • The Temp

  • Leaving Las Vegas

  • Timecode

1 of 10

Steven Weber Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Mar 4, 1961
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Mention the name Steven Weber to any television fanatic, and odds are their eyes will soon gloss over with fond memories of the popular early-'90s sitcom [[Feature~V175485~Wings~wings[tvseries]]]. Despite the popularity of his small-screen past, though, the handsome actor has gone on to prove his versatility in a number of features, both made-for-television and otherwise. Born in Queens, NY, to a nightclub singer and a comic manager, Weber discovered his love of acting around the age of three while appearing in a series of television commercials. He followed up a stint at New York's High School of the Performing Arts with an education at New York's prestigious State University at Purchase, and after working a series of odd jobs, Weber made his film debut in the 1984 [[Performer~P19210~Matt Dillon~mattdillon]] comedy [[Feature~V17723~The Flamingo Kid~theflamingokid]]. A role on the enduring daytime soap opera As the World Turns introduced Weber to his first wife, [[Performer~P11412~Finn Carter~finncarter]], a few short years later. After appearing as a rock star in [[Feature~V141912~Los Angeles~angels]] and as [[Performer~P37720~John F. Kennedy~johnfkennedy]] in [[Feature~V126722~The Kennedys of Massachusetts~thekennedysofmassachusetts]] (both 1990), Weber was more than ready to take the lead in his own sitcom. Cast as the half-owner, along with brother Joe ([[Performer~P16711~Timothy Daly~timdaly]]), of a Nantucket-based airline, Weber's charisma and comic talents went a long way in supporting the show over the course of its enduring eight-year run.

Of course, Weber wasn't content to simply sit back and enjoy the success of [[Feature~V175485~Wings~wings[tvseries]]]; in addition to the popular show, the actor turned up in supporting roles in numerous features including [[Feature~V44877~Single White Female~singlewhitefemale]] (1992), [[Feature~V134904~Jeffrey~jeffrey]] (1995), and [[Feature~V135758~Leaving Las Vegas~leavinglasvegas]] (also 1995). By the time the show came to an end in 1997, Weber had divorced [[Performer~P11412~Finn Carter~finncarter]] and married actress [[Performer~P339160~Juliette Hohnen~juliettehohnen]], and was ready to find out what else he had to offer to the worlds of film and television. Though a role in the made-for-television adaptation of The Shining failed to erase the memory of [[Performer~P104455~Jack Nicholson~jacknicholson]]'s terrifying interpretation of the role, Weber did prove memorable in [[Feature~V276165~Seinfeld~seinfeld[tvseries]]] creator [[Performer~P207898~Larry David~larrydavid]]'s bitter-flavored comedy [[Feature~V161766~Sour Grapes~sourgrapes]] (1998). The following few years would find Weber playing things relatively low-key onscreen; he returned to the small screen to moving effect with the 1999 made-for-television drama [[Feature~V179803~Love Letters~loveletters]]. In 2000, Weber essayed a supporting role in director [[Performer~P89744~Mike Figgis~mikefiggis]]' experimental comedy drama [[Feature~V198542~Timecode~timecode]], and that same year he would return to sitcom territory with the short-lived Cursed. Though that particular effort may not have quite lived up to potential, Weber did gain positive notice for his role in the little-seen independent thriller [[Feature~V232915~Sleep Easy, Hutch Rimes~sleepeasyhutchrimes]] (2000). After appearing opposite [[Performer~P79264~Alan Alda~alanalda]] in the made-for-television feature [[Feature~V227159~Clubland~clubland]] (2001), Weber joined the cast of the popular small-screen drama [[Feature~V181328~Once and Again~onceandagain[tvseries]]] later that same year.

Weber's enduring appeal has led to a steady stream of recent television work, both as a guest star and in regular roles. After wrapping up on Once and Again, he appeared as Will's brother Sam on Will & Grace; chairman of the fictional NBS network on the surprisingly short-lived dramedy Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip; a flirtatious co-worker romancing Sarah Walker (Rachel Griffths) during a stint on Brothers & Sisters; a regular role on another short-lived show, 2010's Happy Town; and a recurring role on 2 Broke Girls as Caroline's (Beth Behrs) jailed father, Martin Channing. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement