Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Stephen Rea doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Life Is Sweet

  • Stella Days

  • Underworld: Awakening

  • Blackthorn

  • Nothing Personal

  • The Heavy

  • Ondine

  • River Queen

  • Stuck

  • The Reaping

1 of 10

Stephen Rea Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Oct 31, 1943
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001
  • Birth Name: Graham Rea

Exhibiting perpetual intensity and the dark, hangdog looks of someone who has been run over by life one too many times, Stephen Rea is one of Ireland's most popular and well-respected actors. Although he has acted in films in diverse genres, Rea is most closely associated with his collaborations with director [[Performer~P96396~Neil Jordan~neiljordan]], particularly [[Feature~V11705~The Crying Game~thecryinggame]], for which he earned Oscar and BAFTA nominations.

Born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, in 1943, Rea was brought up in a working-class Protestant family. After training at the Abbey Theatre School, he began acting on the stage, screen, and television, making his film debut in the 1970 thriller [[Feature~V11698~Cry of the Banshee~cryofthebanshee]]. He first collaborated with Jordan in 1982 on [[Feature~V12204~Angel~angel]], a crime drama in which he played a saxophonist who witnesses a number of brutal murders. The two again collaborated in 1984 on [[Feature~V10603~The Company of Wolves~thecompanyofwolves]], a modern retelling of the Little Red Riding Hood fairy tale. That same year, Rea worked with [[Performer~P99264~Mike Leigh~mikeleigh]] on [[Feature~V18311~Four Days in July~fourdaysinjuly]]; he would later work with him on Leigh's celebrated [[Feature~V29233~Life is Sweet~lifeissweet]] (1991). In addition to his work on the screen, Rea formed the Field Day Theatre Company with playwrights Brian Friel and Seamus Heaney, bringing theatre to rural communities across Ireland.

In 1992, Rea was introduced to international audiences with his role as an IRA "volunteer" in [[Feature~V11705~The Crying Game~thecryinggame]]. Thanks to the film's great success and the praise surrounding his performance, Rea went on to appear in a number of high profile films, including Jordan's adaptation of [[Feature~V132032~Interview with the Vampire~interviewwiththevampire]] and [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]]'s [[Feature~V133796~Ready to Wear~prêtàporter]], in which he gave a delightful portrayal of an egotistical fashion photographer. In addition to further collaborations with Jordan (1996's [[Feature~V154518~Michael Collins~michaelcollins]], 1997's [[Feature~V153054~The Butcher Boy~thebutcherboy]]), Rea continued to do solid work in films ranging from dramas ([[Feature~V173507~This is My Father~thisismyfather]], 1998) to comedy spoofs ([[Feature~V174144~Still Crazy~stillcrazy]], also 1998). In 1999 alone, Rea could be seen in no less than four divergent films. Following a turn as a psychiatrist in the big-budget thriller [[Feature~V174352~In Dreams~indreams]], he starred as a bohemian photographer with a predilection for young, deeply insecure women in [[Performer~P206377~Audrey Wells~audreywells]]' celebrated [[Feature~V176007~Guinevere~guinevere]]. Later that year, he returned to Ireland for [[Feature~V181324~I Could Read the Sky~icouldreadthesky]] and then starred alongside [[Performer~P50325~Julianne Moore~juliannemoore]] and [[Performer~P23390~Ralph Fiennes~ralphfiennes]] in the adaptation of [[Performer~P92487~Graham Greene~grahamgreene]]'s [[Feature~V181268~The End of the Affair~theendoftheaffair]]. Over the next several years, Rea would prove to be a consistent presence on screen, appearing in movies like The Good Shepherd, Control, V for Vendetta, and Underworld: Awakening. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement