Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Conformist

At Home
  • Alfredo, Alfredo

  • Delitto d'amore

  • L'Attenzione

  • 1900

  • The Conformist

  • Sedotta e Abbandonata

  • Ninfa Plebea

  • La Tarantola dal ventre nero

  • Partner

  • Divorce, Italian Style

1 of 10

Stefania Sandrelli Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 1946
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Vivacious and sexy in an androgynous sort of way, popular Italian actress Stefania Sandrelli was at her best starring as a lonely, sickly country woman trying to survive in a hostile post-WWII city in [[Performer~P56804~Antonio Pietrangeli~antoniopietrangeli]]'s [[Feature~V138978~Io la Conoscevo Bene~iolaconoscevobene]] ([[Feature~V138978~I Knew Her Well~iolaconoscevobene]]) (1965). Before launching her acting career in 1961 with [[Feature~V91048~Il Federale~ilfederale]], Sandrelli was a beauty queen. She got her break appearing as a teenaged seductress in [[Performer~P91340~Pietro Germi~pietrogermi]]'s [[Feature~V14076~Divorzio all'Italiana~divorceitalianstyle]] ([[Feature~V14076~Divorce Italian Style~divorceitalianstyle]]) (1961). In the U.S., she is best known for appearing in several films of [[Performer~P81701~Bernardo Bertolucci~bernardobertolucci]], notably [[Feature~V10775~Il Conformista~theconformist]] ([[Feature~V10775~The Conformist~theconformist]]) (1970). She has also worked with other prominent Italian directors including [[Performer~P110524~Ettore Scola~ettorescola]]. She had great success in [[Performer~P82841~Tinto Brass~tintobrass]]' La Chiave (The Key) in 1984 and this led to her appearing in a few very racy films. Since then Sandrelli became a character actress. ~ Sandra Brennan, Rovi

Advertisement