Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Hector and the Search for Happiness

  • The Boxtrolls

  • Shaun of the Dead

1 of 3
At Home
  • The World's End

  • Star Trek Into Darkness

  • Ice Age: Continental Drift

  • Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol

  • The Adventures of Tintin

  • Burke & Hare

  • Paul

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the...

  • Star Trek

  • Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs

1 of 10

Simon Pegg Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Screenwriter
  • Born: Feb 14, 1970
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Perhaps the busiest television actor on either side of the pond, British standup comedian-turned-actor Simon Pegg has become a ubiquitous presence to U.K. television viewers since making his debut in the popular 1995 comedy series [[Feature~V270170~Six Pairs of Pants~sixpairsofpants[tvseries]]]. With his role as the writer and hapless title character in the British "zom-rom-com" (zombie romantic comedy) [[Feature~V301090~Shaun of the Dead~shaunofthedead]], Pegg's popularity set sail for U.S. shores as well.

A Glouchester native who completed his education at Bristol University before segueing into film and television, Pegg showed considerable promise as an actor in his early television appearances. It was during the production of [[Feature~V270170~Six Pairs of Pants~sixpairsofpants[tvseries]]] that Pegg made the acquaintance of future collaborators [[Performer~P240851~Jessica Stevenson~jessicastevenson]] and [[Performer~P203553~Edgar Wright~edgarwright]], and in the years that followed, the trio would find notable small-screen success in such efforts as Asylum and [[Feature~V270238~Spaced~spaced[tvseries]]] -- with the latter finding an especially strong following on U.K. television. Additional roles in [[Feature~V270008~Saturday Live~saturdaylive[tvseries]]], the outlandish [[Feature~V387364~Big Train~bigtrain[tvseries]]], and as the lead in [[Feature~V387369~Hippies~hippies[tvseries]]] also served to boost Pegg's profile, and in 2001 he joined an impressive cast for a small role in [[Performer~P93341~Tom Hanks~tomhanks]]' acclaimed miniseries [[Feature~V258567~Band of Brothers~bandofbrothers[tvseries]]].

Though the majority of Pegg's exposure had been limited to the small screen at the dawn of the new millennium (save for brief appearances in such features as [[Feature~V251892~The Parole Officer~theparoleofficer]] and [[Feature~V260399~24 Hour Party People~24hourpartypeople]]), the prolific television comic made a successful leap to the big screen as the writer and eponymous character in 2004's [[Feature~V301090~Shaun of the Dead~shaunofthedead]]. Cast as a put-upon electronics-store employee who attempts to rescue his friend (played by Pegg real-life best friend and [[Feature~V270238~Spaced~spaced[tvseries]]] co-star [[Performer~P394251~Nick Frost~nickfrost]]), mother, and ex-girlfriend as the zombie apocalypse rages around them, Pegg drew big laughs with [[Feature~V301090~Shaun~shaunofthedead]], and it wasn't long before the film was scheduled for stateside release. A film championed by the likes of even zombie-genre inventor [[Performer~P108784~George A. Romero~georgearomero]] for its witty writing and cleverly constructed chills, [[Feature~V301090~Shaun of the Dead~shaunofthedead]] found considerable success when released into stateside theaters in September 2004 (it would come as no surprise to fans of the film that it won the award for Best Screenplay at the 2004 British Independent Film Awards).

Back on the BBC, Pegg joined [[Feature~V353860~I'm Alan Partridge~imalanpartridge[tvseries]]] star [[Performer~P134980~Steve Coogan~stevecoogan]] in the bizarre genetically modified talking-animals comedy [[Feature~V367335~I Am Not an Animal~iamnotananimal]] before joining [[Feature~V301090~Shaun~shaunofthedead]] mate [[Performer~P342854~Peter Serafinowicz~peterserafinowicz]] for a few episodes of Look Around You and making an appearance in the 2005 series of his favorite childhood television program, [[Feature~V174951~Doctor Who~doctorwho[tvseries]]]. A brief cameo in [[Performer~P108784~Romero~georgearomero]]'s eagerly anticipated [[Feature~V314246~Land of the Dead~landofthedead]] quickly followed, and after lending his voice to the scatological computer-animated comedy [[Feature~V353175~Free Jimmy~freejimmy]], Pegg would "go-Hollywood" in a very big way by joining the [[Performer~P86295~Tom Cruise~tomcruise]] team in [[Feature~V255661~Alias~alias[tvseries]]] director [[Performer~P240910~J.J. Abrams~jjabrams]]' [[Feature~V286671~Mission: Impossible III~mission:impossibleiii]].

Though Pegg went on to play a substantial role in director [[Performer~P372614~Jean-Baptiste Andrea~jeanbaptisteandrea]]'s [[Feature~V360917~Big Nothing~bignothing]] shortly thereafter, the film was released straight to DVD in the U.S., and it wasn't until the release of [[Feature~V344571~Hot Fuzz~hotfuzz]] that American audiences would once again get a good look at Pegg and pal [[Performer~P394251~Frost~nickfrost]] as they re-teamed with director [[Performer~P203553~Wright~edgarwright]] to parody the action-packed police thrillers that fueled their imaginations as impressionable young children. Pegg would go on to enjoy sustained success in the comedy world, appearing in movies like Run, Fatboy, Run, and Paul. He would also cement himself into a hugely popular franchise, taking on the role of Scotty in the J.J. Abrams reboot of Star Trek. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement