Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

At Home
  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

  • Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

  • 127 Hours

  • Slumdog Millionaire

  • Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day

  • The Water Horse: Legend of the Deep

  • This Is Not a Love Song

  • The Full Monty

  • Blow Dry

1 of 9

Simon Beaufoy Biography

  • Profession: Screenwriter
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Born in Keighley, England, preeminent British scriptwriter Simon Beaufoy attended Malsis School in Glusburn and Ermysted's in Skipton, England. Though he harbored dreams of becoming a soldier as a young man, he shifted gears to focus on art in his mid-teens, then decided instead to focus on writing, then moved into scriptwriting. Beaufoy rocketed to fame in the mid- to late '90s, on the basis of his screenplay for the rollicking male-stripper comedy [[Feature~V158564~The Full Monty~thefullmonty]]; it won him four BAFTAs (British Academy Awards) and a Best Screenplay Oscar nod, though he lost the latter to [[Performer~P16762~Matt Damon~mattdamon]] and [[Performer~P426~Ben Affleck~benaffleck]] for [[Feature~V160083~Good Will Hunting~goodwillhunting]]. Regardless, [[Feature~V158564~Monty~thefullmonty]] put Beaufoy on top of his game in the English film industry, and thereafter he turned out a series of popularly and critically acclaimed scripts for features including [[Feature~V162723~Among Giants~amonggiants]] (1998), [[Feature~V196450~Blow Dry~blowdry]] (2000), [[Feature~V390040~Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day~misspettigrewlivesforaday]] (2008), and, as arguably his greatest success up through that time, [[Feature~V415379~Slumdog Millionaire~slumdogmillionaire]] (2008) -- the [[Performer~P188724~Danny Boyle~dannyboyle]]-directed tale of an Indian youth ([[Performer~P527866~Dev Patel~devpatel]]) who grows up to become a national hero on his country's version of [[Feature~V469502~Who Wants to Be a Millionaire~whowantstobeamillionaire[tvseries]]]. For that effort, Beaufoy received a Golden Globe for Best Screenplay. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement