Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Congress

At Home
  • The Congress

  • The Trouble With Bliss

  • I Don't Know How She Does It

  • AmericanEast

  • For Your Consideration

  • A Lot Like Love

  • Legally Blonde 2: Red, White & Blonde

  • Old School

1 of 8

Sarah Shahi Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 10, 1980
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Though she qualifies as a direct descendant of Middle Eastern royalty -- the great-great-grandaughter, in fact, of a 19th century Persian shah -- Iranian-American Sarah Shahi lived out several offscreen roles exotic enough to rival anything in her lineage. During her adolescence, she enjoyed stints as a USO performer and [[Performer~P16663~Dallas Cowboys~thedallascowboys]] cheerleader, and graduated from that experience to a successful Hollywood acting career at the behest of [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]], who advised her in 2000 to make a beeline for the West Coast and audition for television pilots. Heeding this advice, Shahi gained national attention a short time later, as Jenny during the [[Feature~V283714~first season~alias:season01]] of the spy series [[Feature~V255661~Alias~alias[tvseries]]] (opposite [[Performer~P230436~Jennifer Garner~jennifergarner]]), and -- following guest appearances on [[Feature~V160210~Dawson's Creek~dawsonscreek[tvseries]]] -- debuted cinematically with a small but memorable role as a (very) willing classroom participant, in the [[Performer~P224449~Will Ferrell~willferrell]]/[[Performer~P225542~Vince Vaughn~vincevaughn]] frat boy comedy [[Feature~V280299~Old School~oldschool]] (2003). Alongside fleeting appearances in such movies as [[Feature~V278864~Legally Blonde 2~legallyblonde2:redwhiteblonde]] (2003) and [[Feature~V331949~For Your Consideration~foryourconsideration]] (2006), Shahi also played the regular role of Carmen de la Pica Morales on Showtime's lesbian-themed drama [[Feature~V301901~The L Word~thelword[tvseries]]] during that program's [[Feature~V327795~second~thelword:season02]] and [[Feature~V339771~third~thelword:season03]] seasons. After her run on that series, she appeared in the short-lived sitcom [[Feature~V346659~Teachers~teachers[tvseries]]] (2006), and then found another regular role the next year on the cop drama [[Feature~V400698~Life~life[tvseries]]], playing Dani Reese, partner of main character Charlie Crews ([[Performer~P301677~Damian Lewis~damianlewis]]). Shahi would continue to appear in several other projects, including films like I Don't Know How She Does It and the TV series Fairly Legal. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement