Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Romancing the Stone

At Home
  • My Father's Will

  • Garbo Talks

  • The Ten

  • Red Mercury

  • Find Me Guilty

  • Girl 6

  • The Entity

  • Oh, God! You Devil

  • Best Friends

  • Live Wire

1 of 10

Ron Silver Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jul 2, 1946
  • Died: Mar 15, 2009

Ron Silver was known for his extraordinary stage presence and high-energy portrayals of a variety of offbeat characters in films and on television. A native New Yorker, [[Performer~P65656~Silver~silver]] studied Chinese at State University of New York at Buffalo and drama at the Herbert Berghof Studio and the Actors Studio. After receiving his bachelor's from S.U.N.Y., [[Performer~P65656~Silver~silver]] earned a master's degree in Chinese history at the College of Chinese Culture in Taiwan and then returned to New York to study at the aforementioned acting studios. 1976 was a big year for [[Performer~P65656~Silver~silver]] who debuted as a comedian in feature films ([[Feature~V51229~Tunnelvision~tunnelvision]]), television ([[Feature~V177435~The Mac Davis Show~showman]]), and theater (El Grande de Coca-Cola). He was also a regular cast member between 1976 and 1978 on the sitcom Rhoda, and then appeared in several made-for-television movies before appearing in [[Feature~V114204~Semi-Tough~tough]] (1977). His feature film career picked up in the early '80s, but he did not get his first big break until he starred opposite [[Performer~P80576~Anne Bancroft~annebancroft]] in [[Performer~P100370~Sidney Lumet~sidneylumet]]'s [[Feature~V19219~Garbo Talks~garbotalks]] (1984). [[Performer~P65656~Silver~silver]] earned critical acclaim in 1989 for starring in [[Performer~P109999~Philip Saville~philipsaville]]'s Fellow Traveler as a Hollywood screenwriter forced to flee his family and friends to avoid getting blacklisted during the early '50s. That same year, [[Performer~P65656~Silver~silver]] won a Tony and a Drama Desk Award for starring in [[Performer~P100953~David Mamet~davidmamet]]'s Speed-The-Plow and scored a second film coup in [[Performer~P46790~Paul Mazursky~paulmazursky]]'s adaptation of author Isaac Bashevis Singer's Enemies, A Love Story. In the years to follow,, the busy [[Performer~P65656~Silver~silver]], who juggled his time between the three entertainment forms, became a respected mid-range star who could be counted on to deliver consistently strong, fine performances. As the '90s progressed, he moved into more lead roles playing everything from psychopaths ([[Feature~V6292~Blue Steel~bluesteel]] [1990]), senators ([[Feature~V132118~Time Cop~idövan]] [1994]), sleazy lawyers (in the TV medical drama Chicago Hope [1994- ]), and scientists (The Arrival [1996]). [[Performer~P65656~Silver~silver]] died of esophageal cancer in 2009 at the age of 62. ~ Sandra Brennan, Rovi

Advertisement