Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Robert Sean Leonard doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • My Best Friend Is a Vampire

  • Andy Warhol: A Documentary Film

  • Killer: A Journal of Murder

  • Safe Passage

  • Married to It

  • Swing Kids

  • Chelsea Walls

  • The Manhattan Project

  • Tape

  • The Age of Innocence

1 of 10

Robert Sean Leonard Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Feb 28, 1969
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

In 1986, clean-cut American actor Robert Sean Leonard made his Broadway debut in Brighton Beach Memoirs and his film debut in [[Feature~V31292~The Manhattan Project~themanhattanproject]]. His first starring film role was as a high-school vampire in the '80s teen comedy [[Feature~V33990~My Best Friend Is a Vampire~mybestfriendisavampire]] (1988). But Leonard's chiseled features and dark brown eyes made him perfect for the role of Neil Perry, the sensitive prep-school student whose acting aspirations are crushed by his wealthy father in the much-loved drama [[Feature~V12714~Dead Poets Society~deadpoetssociety]] (1989). His next few films were period pieces: the Merchant-Ivory production [[Feature~V33588~Mr. & Mrs. Bridge~mrandmrsbridge]] (1990), [[Performer~P82784~Kenneth Branagh~kennethbranagh]]'s [[Feature~V33732~Much Ado About Nothing~muchadoaboutnothing]] (1993), and [[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]]'s [[Feature~V119008~The Age of Innocence~theageofinnocence]] (also 1993). Leonard also earned a Young Artist award for his performance in the WWII-era musical [[Feature~V48164~Swing Kids~swingkids]] in 1993 and earned his first Tony nomination that same year for a revival of Candida. Though he often chose the stage over the screen, his theatrical training directed him toward roles in the talky feature films [[Feature~V31556~Married to It~marriedtoit]] (1993), [[Feature~V133564~Safe Passage~safepassage]] (1994), and [[Feature~V162485~The Last Days of Disco~thelastdaysofdisco]] (1998). He also fared well in television adaptations of stage productions ([[Feature~V153039~The Boys Next Door~theboysnextdoor]] [1996], [[Feature~V154929~In the Gloaming~inthegloaming]] [1997]) and based-on-a-true-story docudramas ([[Feature~V135588~Killer: A Journal of Murder~killer:ajournalofmurder]] [1995], [[Feature~V258531~A Glimpse of Hell~aglimpseofhell]] [2001]).

In 2001, Leonard reunited with [[Feature~V12714~Dead Poets Society~deadpoetssociety]] co-star [[Performer~P31094~Ethan Hawke~ethanhawke]] to appear in the independent drama [[Feature~V246179~Chelsea Walls~chelseawalls]], [[Performer~P31094~Hawke~ethanhawke]]'s directorial debut. He also co-starred with [[Performer~P31094~Hawke~ethanhawke]] and [[Performer~P70905~Uma Thurman~umathurman]] in [[Performer~P99850~Richard Linklater~richardlinklater]]'s intensely talky drama [[Feature~V235123~Tape~tape]]. After spending most of his career on the stage, Leonard finally earned a Tony award for his portrayal of A.E. Houseman in [[Performer~P112918~Tom Stoppard~tomstoppard]]'s The Invention of Love. Also on Broadway, he could be seen in A Long Day's Journey Into Night and The Violet Hour. Though Leonard's 2004 projects would include the feature film [[Feature~V288379~The I Inside~theiinside]], based on the play Point of Death, it would soon become apparent that television was his true calling when, later that same year, he donned a white coat as Dr. James Wilson on the phenominally successful series House. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement