Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Robert Montgomery doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Say One for Me

  • A Private's Affair

  • Three Loves Has Nancy

  • Rage in Heaven

  • Night Flight

  • The Gallant Hours

  • Rip Tide

  • No More Ladies

  • Private Lives

  • The Big House

1 of 10

Robert Montgomery Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: May 21, 1904
  • Died: Sep 27, 1981
  • Birth Name: Henry Montgomery, Jr.

Actor/director/producer. In his early career, from the late '20s to the early '40s, Montgomery was an amiable light comedian and dramatic actor, appearing in almost 40 sound films before 1935. He starred opposite [[Performer~P65025~Norma Shearer~normashearer]] in [[Feature~V39315~Private Lives~privatelives]] (1931), [[Performer~P15681~Joan Crawford~joancrawford]] in [[Feature~V28416~The Last of Mrs. Cheyney~thelastofmrscheyney]] (1937), [[Performer~P43021~Carole Lombard~carolelombard]] in Hitchcock's comedy [[Feature~V33599~Mr. and Mrs. Smith~mrmrssmith]] (1941) and was nominated for an Academy Award for [[Feature~V103947~Night Must Fall~nightmustfall]] (1937) and [[Feature~V22212~Here Comes Mr. Jordan~herecomesmrjordan]] (1941). His career took a more serious turn after his stint in World War II. For his first film after returning, [[Feature~V49432~They Were Expendable~theywereexpendable]] (1945), Montgomery not only starred but assisted [[Performer~P90133~John Ford~johnford]] in the direction. He also starred in and directed the [[Performer~P84666~Raymond Chandler~raymondchandler]] detective thriller [[Feature~V28095~Lady in the Lake~ladyinthelake]], noted for its unique first-person point of view. His attentions then turned to politics and television. Montgomery gave "friendly" testimony before the House Un-American Activities Committee (HUAC) and by the mid '50s was a consultant to Republican President Eisenhower. As a prestigious television producer, he supervised the '50s dramatic anthology series [[Feature~V16435~Eye Witness~eyewitness]] (1953) and [[Feature~V41654~Robert Montgomery Presents~robertmontgomerypresents]] (1950-57), which offered his daughter Elizabeth her acting debut and which won him an early Emmy Award in 1952. ~ Rovi

Advertisement

Worked With