Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

1 of 5
At Home
  • Brave

  • Arthur Christmas

  • Death Watch

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

  • Bert Rigby, You're a Fool

  • The Brothers Bloom

  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

  • Gooby

  • The Tale of Despereaux

1 of 10

Robbie Coltrane Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Mar 30, 1950
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Stocky Scottish comic actor Robbie Coltrane was trained as an artist in Glasgow. During the 1970s, he rose to prominence as an improvisational nightclub comedian, usually working in ensemble groups (one of his partners was actress [[Performer~P70692~Emma Thompson~emmathompson]]). During the '80s, he was in a number of British features and made-for-TV movies. A regular at London's Comic Strip comedy club, he had a habit of appearing as himself in comedy specials like [[Feature~V135288~Secret Policeman's Third Ball~secretpolicemansthirdball]]. He also showed up in small comedic cameos in [[Feature~V34583~National Lampoon's European Vacation~nationallampoonseuropeanvacation]] and [[Performer~P82784~Kenneth Branagh~kennethbranagh]]'s [[Feature~V72443~Henry V~henryv]]. Though he was popular in the U.K. on TV shows like Alfresco, [[Feature~V270656~Tutti Fruitti~tuttifrutti]], [[Feature~V174852~Black Adder~blackadder[tvseries]]], and [[Feature~V175506~The Young Ones~theyoungones[tvseries]]], he wasn't widely known in the U.S. until his antic performance in [[Feature~V35821~Nuns on the Run~nunsontherun]] with [[Performer~P95365~Eric Idle~ericidle]]. He then starred as the title character in the satiric comedy [[Feature~V38670~The Pope Must Die~thepopemustdiet]] (released in the U.S. as [[Feature~V38670~The Pope Must Diet~thepopemustdiet]]). In 1993, he starred in the British TV detective series [[Feature~V275576~Cracker~cracker[tvseries]]] as Fitz, a nervous forensic psychologist who helps crack cases. He won a BAFTA TV award for the role, and he won a Cable ACE award when it was rebroadcast in the U.S. on A&E. When the show ended, he briefly joined up with the [[Feature~V158529~James Bond~jamesbond[filmseries]]] film series as Valentin Dmitrovich Zukovsky in [[Feature~V135622~GoldenEye~goldeneye]] and [[Feature~V181130~The World Is Not Enough~theworldisnotenough]]. In the late '90s, he starred in a few independent films ([[Feature~V160473~Montana~montana]], [[Feature~V161685~Frogs for Snakes~frogsforsnakes]]) and played Sgt. Peter Goldy in the Hughes brothers' thriller [[Feature~V254552~From Hell~fromhell]]. However, he's been most successful in the area of family entertainment. He was delightful as the con man in [[Feature~V954~The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn~theadventuresofhuckfinn]] with [[Performer~P77309~Elijah Wood~elijahwood]]; he was Tweedledum to [[Performer~P75525~George Wendt~georgewendt]]'s Tweedledee in [[Feature~V178299~Alice in Wonderland~aliceinwonderland]]; and he found a fine place for himself as Hagrid the Giant in the [[Feature~V286867~Harry Potter~harrypotter[filmseries]]] film series. In 2002, he earned a Best Supporting Actor nomination from the British Academy for [[Feature~V255538~Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone~harrypotterandthesorcerersstone]]. In 2003, he returned to British TV to play lawyer Jack Lennox in The Planman. Coltrane continued to work as Hagrid throughout the Harry Potter film series (2001-2011), and lent his voice to films including The Tales of Despereaux (2008) and Brave (2012). ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement