Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Gambler

  • Kill the Messenger

  • The Hudsucker Proxy

1 of 3
At Home
  • The Public Eye

  • Man of Steel

  • Knife Fight

  • Johnny English Reborn

  • Made in Dagenham

  • Last Chance Harvey

  • Martian Child

  • Civic Duty

  • Ghost in the Machine

  • Ray

1 of 10

Richard Schiff Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: May 27, 1955
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Character actor Richard Schiff has done prolific work on both the large and small screens, and has appeared in films ranging from [[Feature~V135792~Seven~seven]] (1995) to [[Feature~V173570~Living Out Loud~livingoutloud]] (1998). Appearing as a cross between [[Performer~P64973~Wallace Shawn~wallaceshawn]] and [[Performer~P67045~Kevin Spacey~kevinspacey]], Schiff, a native of the East Coast, began his career as a stage director in New York. After founding and serving as the artistic director of the Manhattan Repertory Theatre and directing a number of on- and off-Broadway productions, he realized that he wanted to act.

As such, Schiff began performing on both the stage and in independent films, then moved to Los Angeles so as to better pursue an acting career. He continued to work in the theatre, joining [[Performer~P108437~Tim Robbins~timrobbins]]' Actors Gang, and gradually broke into film. Appearances in such films as [[Performer~P99175~Spike Lee~spikelee]]'s [[Feature~V31012~Malcolm X~malcolmx]] (1992), the Coen Brothers' [[Feature~V131165~The Hudsucker Proxy~thehudsuckerproxy]] (1994), and [[Performer~P112325~Steven Spielberg~stevenspielberg]]'s [[Feature~V154934~The Lost World: Jurassic Park~thelostworld:jurassicpark]] (1997) helped to put Schiff on the map as a character actor and led to substantial roles in [[Feature~V173570~Living Out Loud~livingoutloud]], which cast him as Danny De Vito's brother, and [[Feature~V162762~Dr. Dolittle~drdolittle]] (1998), in which he played one of [[Performer~P51440~Eddie Murphy~eddiemurphy]]'s fellow men of medicine.

Schiff also continued to do a great deal of work on television, appearing in shows ranging from [[Feature~V182650~Ally McBeal~allymcbeal[tvseries]]] to [[Feature~V179305~E.R.~er[tvseries]]] In 2000, he joined the cast of the acclaimed NBC series [[Feature~V181326~The West Wing~thewestwing[tvseries]]], playing the Chief Press Advisor to the President ([[Performer~P111083~Martin Sheen~martinsheen]]). That same year, he received a Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series Emmy nomination for his portrayal. In the years to come, Schiff would remain active on screen, appearing on TV series like Past Life, The Cape, and House of Lies. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement