Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • A Million Ways to Die in the West

  • Cutthroat Island

1 of 2
At Home
  • Devil's Knot

  • Atlas Shrugged Part II

  • Appaloosa

  • Two Tickets to Paradise

  • Abominable

  • The Zodiac

  • After the Sunset

  • Wyatt Earp

  • Iron Will

  • Drop Zone

1 of 10

Rex Linn Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Associate Producer
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

With his bald head and beefy exterior, Hollywood character player Rex Linn quickly built up an acting resumé replete with many portrayals of toughs, feds, cops, thugs, and -- occasionally -- unremarkable, beleaguered everymen. Born in the panhandle of the Lone Star State, Linn came of age in the small Texas town of Spearman. He discovered a lingering interest in drama during his teenage years, but buckled under the weight of discouragement from an acting coach, and put acting on the shelf to focus on career pursuits in banking and the oil industry. Dissatisfied with these fields, Linn convinced an Oklahoma talent agent to sign him, and made the leap from commercials to feature roles with his portrayal of serial murderer Fred Epps in the [[Performer~P101656~Peter Masterson~petermasterson]]-directed thriller [[Feature~V35220~Night Game~nightgame]] (1989), opposite [[Performer~P63580~Roy Scheider~royscheider]]. The pleasure of this experience prompted Linn to head to the West Coast, where he worked construction, landed intermittent acting assignments, and studied the craft under the tutelage of [[Performer~P26909~Silvana Gallardo~silvanagallardo]] in Studio City, CA.

Linn was memorable as the rogue treasury agent who assists terrorist [[Performer~P42686~John Lithgow~johnlithgow]] in the [[Performer~P112464~Sylvester Stallone~sylvesterstallone]] vehicle [[Feature~V9983~Cliffhanger~cliffhanger]] (1993), which brought the actor the recognition he so persistently sought and led to a series of supporting roles in dozens of feature films. Linn's portrayal of Frank McLaury in [[Feature~V131244~Wyatt Earp~wyattearp]] (1994) marked the first in a series of several onscreen collaborations with [[Performer~P15189~Kevin Costner~kevincostner]] that also included the romantic comedy [[Feature~V136501~Tin Cup~tincup]] (1996) and the laborious sci-fi epic [[Feature~V158890~The Postman~thepostman]] (1997). Linn also landed guest appearances on such series as [[Feature~V348008~JAG~jag[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V322901~3rd Rock From the Sun~3rdrockfromthesun[tvseries]]]. He is best known, however, for his fine portrayal of Miami-Dade Police Department detective Frank Tripp on the hit crime series [[Feature~V273921~CSI: Miami~csi:miami[tvseries]]]. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement