Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Ray Wise doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Wrong Cops

  • Big Ass Spider!

  • Atlas Shrugged Part II

  • Excision

  • Crazy Eyes

  • Tim and Eric's Billion Dollar Movie

  • X-Men: First Class

  • Stuntmen

  • AmericanEast

  • One Missed Call

1 of 10

Ray Wise Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Aug 29, 1947
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Longtime character actor Ray Wise is beloved by genre fans for his over-the-top roles in [[Feature~V48050~Swamp Thing~swampthing]], [[Feature~V41702~RoboCop~robocop]], [[Feature~V216953~Twin Peaks~twinpeaks[tvseries]]] (both the series and the feature), and [[Feature~V278223~Jeepers Creepers 2~jeeperscreepers2]], yet one look at the actor's diverse filmography reveals that it's Wise's diverse body of small-screen work that has been his bread and butter throughout the years.

As an adolescent, Wise became keenly aware of his love for acting, and displayed his ambition by appearing in as many plays as possible throughout high school. A college theater major who spent most of his summer breaks in summer stock, Wise was well and ready to enter the professional world after receiving his degree in 1970. As with many other aspiring actors, Wise was drawn to the bright lights of Broadway and New York City, landing a job on the soap opera Love of Life after being in town for only two weeks. During the six years that he was acting on Love of Life, Wise would moonlight with stage roles both on and off-Broadway in addition to dabbling in repertory theater. When Love of Life was canceled in 1976, it was time to expand into features with supporting roles in [[Feature~V48050~Swamp Thing~swampthing]] and [[Feature~V8597~Cat People~catpeople]] (both 1982). Throughout the 1980s, Wise appeared on some of the most popular series on television, including [[Feature~V246297~Dallas~dallas[tvseries]]], Trapper John, M.D., [[Feature~V322975~Knots Landing~knotslanding[tvseries]]], and [[Feature~V216960~Moonlighting~moonlighting[tvseries]]] -- occasionally returning for a recurring role. While his part in [[Performer~P206576~Paul Verhoeven~paulverhoeven]]'s over-the-top sci-fi action flick [[Feature~V41702~RoboCop~robocop]] offered the busy actor a chance to truly explore his inner villain, it was another menacing role that would propel Wise's career in the 1990s.

Cast as grieving father Leland Palmer in the surreal [[Performer~P100454~David Lynch~davidlynch]] series [[Feature~V216953~Twin Peaks~twinpeaks[tvseries]]], Wise captivated television viewers with his emotionally charged performance -- Palmer was a challenging character, and few actors could have brought him to life quite as effectively as Wise. In 1992, Wise reprised the role of Leland Palmer for the polarizing feature [[Feature~V51348~Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me~twinpeaks:firewalkwithme]], with subsequent performances in [[Feature~V6418~Bob Roberts~bobroberts]] and [[Feature~V135714~Powder~powder]], as well as on television in [[Feature~V263074~Star Trek: Voyager~startrek:voyager[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V174845~Beverly Hills 90210~beverlyhills90210[tvseries]]], proving his highest-profile works of the decade. While by the year 2000 it appeared as if Wise had settled into a comfortable small-screen groove thanks to his numerous television credits, roles as a frightened father in the underappreciated, [[Feature~V133223~Twilight Zone~thetwilightzone[tvseries][19591964]]]-flavored frightener [[Feature~V291206~Dead End~deadend]] and a monster-fighting farmer in [[Feature~V278223~Jeepers Creepers 2~jeeperscreepers2]] (which re-teamed him with [[Feature~V135714~Powder~powder]] director [[Performer~P109662~Victor Salva~victorsalva]]) both gave genre fans cause to celebrate.

In 2005, Wise took an affecting turn as communist witch-hunt victim Don Hollenbeck in director [[Performer~P13722~George Clooney~georgeclooney]]'s Oscar-nominated drama [[Feature~V317061~Good Night, and Good Luck~goodnightandgoodluck]], and the following year he had a recurring role as Vice President Hal Gardner in the hit Fox series [[Feature~V257810~24~24[tvseries]]]. With additional small-screen roles in [[Feature~V330734~The Closer~thecloser[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V220880~CSI~csi:crimesceneinvestigation[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V181329~Law & Order: SVU~laworder:specialvictimsunit[tvseries]]], and the supernatural series [[Feature~V409727~Reaper~reaper[tvseries]]] (on which he played the Devil himself) serving well to balance out feature work in [[Feature~V342809~Peaceful Warrior~peacefulwarrior]], [[Feature~V399758~Pandemic~pandemic]], and [[Feature~V357167~One Missed Call~onemissedcall]], it appeared that Wise remained as comfortable as ever fluctuating between work in film and television. He continued to work steadily on small and big-screen projects like Pandemic, One Missed Call, Crazy Eyes, Mad Men, and Tim and Eric's Billion Dollar Movie.

~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement