Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

  • Eyes Wide Shut

1 of 2
At Home
  • In the Land of Blood and Honey

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

  • Battle in Seattle

  • Quarantine

  • Moscow Zero

  • Before the Rain

  • The Eye

  • The Keeper: The Legend of Omar Khayyam

  • The Fog

  • The Great Water

1 of 10

Rade Serbedzija Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 1946
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Considered one of the former Yugoslavia's finest actors, Rade Serbedzija (also credited as [[Performer~P376705~Rade Sherbedgia~radesherbedgia]]) appeared in over 40 of the fractured country's feature films and was a two-time winner of the Pula Film Festival's coveted Golden Arena for Best Actor. In addition to his film credits, Serbedzija was also a distinguished stage actor, once heralded as Yugoslavia's definitive Hamlet. In cinema, he gained international exposure in the Oscar-nominated [[Feature~V133850~Pred Dozhdot~beforetherain]]/[[Feature~V133850~Before the Rain~beforetherain]] (1994). The film earned ten awards at the 1994 Venice Film Festival, including the Grand Prix Golden Lion; Serbedzija also won the festival's Critics' Award for Best Actor.

Thereafter, Serbedzija continued to star and co-star in international productions such as Italy's [[Feature~V154644~La Tregua~thetruce]] (1997); however, beginning with the 1997 Hollywood adventure yarn [[Feature~V154811~The Saint~thesaint]], his presence in American films increased tenfold. He racked up subsequent A-list credits including [[Feature~V174332~Mighty Joe Young~mightyjoeyoung]] (1998), [[Feature~V160238~Polish Wedding~polishwedding]] (1998), [[Feature~V158829~Eyes Wide Shut~eyeswideshut]] (1999), [[Feature~V184585~Mission: Impossible II~mission:impossibleii]] (2000), and [[Feature~V317305~The Fog~thefog]] (2005). He also made memorable appearances on such U.S. television programs as the hit action thriller series [[Feature~V257810~24~24[tvseries]]] (as the villainous former Soviet Red Army general Dmitri Gredenko during [[Feature~V356297~season six~24:season06]]) and the short-lived sci-fi show [[Feature~V335327~Surface~surface[tvseries]]] (as a mysterious Serbian scientist). In 2008, Serbedzija teamed up with co-directors [[Performer~P480204~Xavier Palud~xavierpalud]] and [[Performer~P480203~David Moreau~davidmoreau]] and star [[Performer~P268078~Jessica Alba~jessicaalba]] for a supporting role in the psychologically charged horror opus [[Feature~V336356~The Eye~theeye]]. He went on to appear in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, as well as in Angelina Jolie's directorial debut In the Land of Honey. ~ Sandra Brennan, Rovi

Advertisement