Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

At Home
  • Beautiful Creatures

  • Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

  • Larry Crowne

  • Sherlock Holmes

  • The Moon in the Gutter

  • The Great Debaters

  • Lions for Lambs

  • The Brave One

  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

  • Constantine

1 of 10

Philippe Rousselot Biography

  • Profession: Cinematographer
  • Born: Jan 1, 1945
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

French cinematographer Philippe Rousselot began as an assistant to [[Performer~P79405~Nestor Almendros~néstoralmendros]] on the [[Performer~P108731~Eric Rohmer~ericrohmer]]-directed films of the late '60s and early '70s. On his own, Rousselot lensed several of the nostalgic films of director [[Performer~P98321~Diane Kurys~dianekurys]] ([[Feature~V37696~Peppermint Soda~diabolomenthe]], [[Feature~V87511~Cocktail Molotov~cocktailmolotov]]). For his versatile Eastmancolor camerawork (including an incredible subway chase) in Jean-Jacques Benaix's [[Feature~V14036~Diva~diva]], Rousselot won the first of his César awards; his second was for the realistically stylish [[Feature~V49397~Thérèse~thérèse]] (1986). Rousselot's accomplishments on the international scene have been numerous, and include work for both British and American directors. In the former category, he has earned Oscar nominations for [[Performer~P82431~John Boorman~johnboorman]]'s [[Feature~V23106~Hope and Glory~hopeandglory]] (1987) and [[Performer~P90460~Stephen Frears~stephenfrears]]' [[Feature~V12171~Dangerous Liaisons~dangerousliaisons]] (1988). For American directors, Rousselot has met with particular acclaim for his work on Henry and June (1991) (for which he earned an Oscar nomination), [[Feature~V132032~Interview with the Vampire~interviewwiththevampire]] (1994), and [[Feature~V41539~A River Runs Through It~ariverrunsthroughit]] (1992), for which he won an Oscar. Two years later, he won his third César for his camera work for La Reine Margot. Rousselot continued to do consistent and varied work on both sides of the Atlantic throughout the remainder of the decade, putting his imprint on such films as [[Feature~V154449~The People vs. Larry Flynt~thepeoplevslarryflynt]] (1996) and [[Feature~V180986~Random Hearts~randomhearts]] (1999). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement