Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Hercules

  • War Horse

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

  • Children of Men

  • Trainspotting

1 of 5
At Home
  • Welcome to the Punch

  • Stone of Destiny

  • War Horse

  • Tyrannosaur

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

  • Boy A

  • The Last Legion

  • Children of Men

  • On a Clear Day

  • Criminal

1 of 10

Peter Mullan Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Best known for his award-winning portrayal of a recovering alcoholic in [[Performer~P99998~Ken Loach~kenloach]]'s [[Feature~V162496~My Name Is Joe~mynameisjoe]] (1998), Scottish actor Peter Mullan has been appearing in films since 1990. He first worked with director Loach in 1991's [[Feature~V41396~Riff Raff~riffraff]], and he has appeared in a number of popular Scottish films, including [[Performer~P188724~Danny Boyle~dannyboyle]]'s [[Feature~V134210~Shallow Grave~shallowgrave]] (1994) and [[Feature~V135870~Trainspotting~trainspotting]] (1996), and [[Performer~P91479~Mel Gibson~melgibson]]'s [[Feature~V134724~Braveheart~braveheart]] (1995). In 1998, the same year that he won the Cannes Film Festival's Best Actor prize for [[Feature~V162496~My Name Is Joe~mynameisjoe]], Mullan made his feature directorial and screenwriting debut with [[Feature~V163109~Orphans~orphans]]. The story of four siblings gathered in Glasgow for their mother's funeral, it earned fairly positive reviews and comparisons to [[Performer~P100669~Gillies MacKinnon~gilliesmackinnon]]'s [[Feature~V135008~Small Faces~smallfaces]] (1995). The following year, Mullan starred opposite [[Performer~P207342~Saffron Burrows~saffronburrows]] in [[Feature~V181341~Miss Julie~missjulie]], [[Performer~P89744~Mike Figgis~mikefiggis]]' adaptation of [[Performer~P218639~August Strindberg~auguststrindberg]]'s tale about the disastrous affair between a wealthy young woman and her servant. He then went on to act in prominent roles for [[Feature~V179538~Ordinary Decent Criminal~ordinarydecentcriminal]] (1999), [[Feature~V230195~The Claim~theclaim]] (2000), and [[Feature~V249869~Session 9~session9]] (2001). In 2002, he returned to directing and screenwriting with the controversial film [[Feature~V271900~The Magdalene Sisters~themagdalenesisters]], which managed to both win the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival and be condemned by the Vatican. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement