Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Christmas Evil

At Home
  • Coming Up Roses

  • Side Effects

  • Harvest

  • Love and Other Drugs

  • Breaking Upwards

  • Spinning Into Butter

  • Synecdoche, New York

  • Daniel

  • The Savages

  • Prince of the City

1 of 10

Peter Friedman Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Avid filmgoers and adherents to the indie film movement that swept through America in the early to mid-'90s will invariably remember Peter Friedman as the sneaky, underhanded, New Age-espousing "self-help guru" who supposedly attempts to offer ailing [[Performer~P50325~Julianne Moore~juliannemoore]] a hand up -- but only succeeds in draining her wallet -- in [[Performer~P93836~Todd Haynes~toddhaynes]]' harrowing drama [[Feature~V133599~Safe~safe]] (1995). In truth, that role represented just one of many memorable cinematic contributions for the prolific, highly versatile character actor, whose resumé reads like a best-of list of both independent film and Hollywood product. This slightly diminutive, stocky, and balding player first made an impression with a small role in the holiday slasher opus [[Feature~V49137~Christmas Evil~christmasevil]] (1980), then essayed a series of consistently interesting projects including [[Feature~V17359~Finnegan Begin Again~finneganbeginagain]] (1984), [[Feature~V43871~The Seventh Sign~theseventhsign]] (1988, as a priest), [[Feature~V131103~Blink~blink]] (1994, as an ophthalmologist), and [[Feature~V135526~I Shot Andy Warhol~ishotandywarhol]] (1996). Friedman's onscreen activity extended into the 2000s, most visibly in [[Performer~P239898~Tamara Jenkins~tamarajenkins]]' drama [[Feature~V344903~The Savages~thesavages]] (2007), in which he played [[Performer~P42589~Laura Linney~lauralinney]]'s sex-hungry paramour. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement