Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past

  • Pixels

  • Elf

1 of 3
At Home
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past

  • Knights of Badassdom

  • A Case of You

  • Ice Age: Continental Drift

  • A Little Bit of Heaven

  • Death at a Funeral

  • Saint John of Las Vegas

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian

  • The Little Fugitive

  • Penelope

1 of 10

Peter Dinklage Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Standing four feet five inches tall, actor Peter Dinklage has had a prolific career both on-stage and in film. After graduating from college in Vermont, he studied at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts in London and the Welsh School of Music and Drama in Wales. He worked in several productions off-Broadway and wrote his own play entitled Frog. He made his film debut in [[Performer~P87646~Tom DiCillo~tomdicillo]]'s 1995 independent comedy [[Feature~V133594~Living in Oblivion~livinginoblivion]] as the dwarf in the dream sequence. He then appeared in [[Feature~V160534~Safe Men~safemen]], [[Feature~V154797~Bullet~bullet]], [[Feature~V242031~Never Again~neveragain]], and [[Feature~V265927~Just a Kiss~justakiss]] before returning to independent comedies. In 2001 he had a substantial role in [[Performer~P290174~Michel Gondry~michelgondry]]'s [[Feature~V246210~Human Nature~humannature]], written by [[Performer~P271315~Charlie Kaufman~charliekaufman]]. In 2002, he played Binky, the sidekick to the clown Bananas played by [[Performer~P9838~Steve Buscemi~stevebuscemi]] in [[Performer~P108608~Alexandre Rockwell~alexandrerockwell]]'s [[Feature~V261178~13 Moons~13moons]].

His first starring film role was in [[Performer~P455452~Tom McCarthy~tommccarthy]]'s [[Feature~V278973~The Station Agent~thestationagent]] as Finbar McBride, a lonely misfit who shacks up in an abandoned railway depot. Also starring [[Performer~P13504~Patricia Clarkson~patriciaclarkson]] and [[Performer~P240595~Bobby Cannavale~bobbycannavale]], the film won festival acclaim at Sundance. In 2003, Dinklage can be seen in both the Lincoln Center production of Toulouse Lautrec and the [[Performer~P22880~Jon Favreau~jonfavreau]] holiday comedy [[Feature~V285899~Elf~elf]] starring [[Performer~P224449~Will Ferrell~willferrell]]. After a supporting role in The Baxter found Dinklage appearing in one of the year's most off-beat romantic comedies, and the sci fi television series Threshold afforded him the opportunity to appear alongside Star Trek: The Next Generation star Brent Spiner, Dinklage would next share the screen with the most popular canine in film and television history in the 2006 family-oriented adventure Lassie.

In 2005, Dinklage took on a starring role in Threshold, a short-lived science fiction series from CBS, and joined the cast of filmmaker Michael Showalter's comedy The Baxter, in which he played a wedding planner. The following year the actor would make waves in Ryan Murphy's highly sexed drama Nip/Tuck. After appearing in a variety of television roles (including a stint playing himself on HBO's popular series entourage) Dinklage once again teamed with HBO to join the cast of Game of Thrones. This proved a fateful decision on his part, as the adaptation of George R. R. Martin's popular series of novels would become wildly successful, in no small part due to Dinklage's portrayal of Tyrion Lannister, the "imp" whose political savvy and brilliant mind allow him to thrive in a world that is less than kind to those it perceives as physically limited. The role led to an Emmy Award for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series, and a Golden Globe Award for Best Supporting Actor - Series, Miniseries or Television Film in 2012. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement