Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Hercules

  • Battleship

  • Lars and the Real Girl

1 of 3
At Home
  • Lone Survivor

  • Battleship

  • Late for Dinner

  • The Losers

  • Hancock

  • Lars and the Real Girl

  • Lions for Lambs

  • The Kingdom

  • Smokin' Aces

  • Girl 6

1 of 10

Peter Berg Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Director, Executive Producer, Screenwriter
  • Born: Mar 11, 1964
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Onscreen from the late '80s, actor Peter Berg first made a memorable impression in [[Feature~V32556~A Midnight Clear~amidnightclear]] (1992), playing one of a group of soldiers stationed in Germany during World War II. The muscular, strong-jawed actor had his real screen breakthrough with [[Performer~P86568~John Dahl~johndahl]]'s critically acclaimed [[Feature~V133406~The Last Seduction~thelastseduction]] (1994), a neo-noir that cast him as [[Performer~P23568~Linda Fiorentino~lindafiorentino]]'s unwitting, hormonally misguided accomplice. Berg's subsequent roles tended to be in films of middling quality, and it was for his work on the popular TV series Chicago Hope that he received the most recognition.

In 1998, Berg made his feature directorial debut with [[Feature~V173513~Very Bad Things~verybadthings]], a black comedy starring [[Performer~P22880~Jon Favreau~jonfavreau]], [[Performer~P66187~Christian Slater~christianslater]], [[Performer~P57008~Jeremy Piven~jeremypiven]], [[Performer~P112705~Daniel Stern~danielstern]], and [[Performer~P200568~Leland Orser~lelandorser]] as a group of men behaving badly. The film, which was shown at the Toronto and San Sebastian Film Festivals, received a fairly mixed critical reception. Nonetheless, Berg continued to be a presence behind the camera. In 2000, he created Wonderland, an edgy dramatic television series set in an asylum. While the ABC show recieved rave reviews and garnered a cult following, it failed to deliver ratings and was quickly cancelled.

Berg finally found himself with a hit on his hands in 2003 with The Rundown. Starring The Rock and Seann William Scott, the Berg-helmed action comedy was well-received by critics and managed to score well at the box-office. In 2004, Berg began work on his third directorial effort, Friday Night Lights, a football film he also scripted that turned into the biggest ciritical hit of his career, as well as performing solidly at the box office. He followed that up with the military thriller The Kingdom in 2007, and the Will Smith sci-fi film Hancock in 2008. He had a hand in the script for the action revenge film The Losers, and in 2012 he helmed the big-screen adaptation of the beloved board game Battleship. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement