Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Peggy Lipton doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • When in Rome

  • Blue

  • Kinjite: Forbidden Subjects

  • Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me

  • Skipped Parts

  • I'm Gonna Git You Sucka!

  • Intern

  • The Postman

1 of 8

Peggy Lipton Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 1948
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Despite over four decades in the industry, actress Peggy Lipton is best known for a role she played in 1968, that of undercover cop Julie Barnes in [[Feature~V284296~The Mod Squad~themodsquad[tvseries]]] (1968-1973). However, prior to life as Julie Barnes, Lipton had participated in The John Forsythe Show (1965-1966) and starred alongside [[Performer~P62232~Kurt Russell~kurtrussell]] in [[Feature~V33374~Mosby's Marauders~mosbysmarauders]], a critically praised three-part tale from [[Feature~V55183~The Wonderful World of Disney~thewonderfulworldofdisney[tvseries]]] series. After the finale of [[Feature~V284296~The Mod Squad~themodsquad[tvseries]]] (and the reunion in 1979's [[Feature~V128490~The Return of the Mod Squad~thereturnofthemodsquad]]), Lipton played supporting roles in [[Feature~V39710~Purple People Eater~purplepeopleeaters]] and [[Performer~P116125~Keenen Ivory Wayans~keenenivorywayans]]' [[Feature~V24180~I'm Gonna Git You Sucka!~imgonnagityousucka]] (both 1988). Before long, another television role launched Lipton's name back into the mainstream -- [[Performer~P100454~David Lynch~davidlynch]]'s surreal drama series [[Feature~V216953~Twin Peaks~twinpeaks[tvseries]]] (1990-1991), which featured Lipton in the role of Norma Jennings.

Lipton reprised her [[Feature~V216953~Twin Peaks~twinpeaks[tvseries]]] role in 1992, though, unlike [[Feature~V128490~The Return of the Mod Squad~thereturnofthemodsquad]], [[Feature~V51348~Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me~twinpeaks:firewalkwithme]] was a feature-film prequel to the television series. Lipton continued to make sporadic appearances in film and television throughout the '90s -- she had decided to focus most of her attention on raising a family rather than pursuing acting full-time -- and played a small, supporting role in [[Performer~P15189~Kevin Costner~kevincostner]]'s ill-conceived film [[Feature~V158890~The Postman~thepostman]] in 1997. In 2000, Lipton worked with [[Performer~P4289~Drew Barrymore~drewbarrymore]] and [[Performer~P41672~Jennifer Jason Leigh~jenniferjasonleigh]] in director [[Performer~P86931~Tamra Davis~tamradavis]]' coming-of-age drama [[Feature~V198454~Skipped Parts~skippedparts]], and went on to perform in [[Performer~P267471~Michael~michaelpolish]] and [[Performer~P267470~Mark Polish~markpolish]]'s [[Feature~V248876~Jackpot~jackpot]] in 2001. She also turned up on the popular spy series [[Feature~V255661~Alias~alias[tvseries]]] in 2004 as the duplicitous mother of the similarly deceptive government agent Lauren Reed ([[Performer~P235483~Melissa George~melissageorge]]). Peggy Lipton was married to composer/producer [[Performer~P96353~Quincy Jones~quincyjones]] from 1974-1989, and the former couple have two daughters together. ~ Tracie Cooper, Rovi

Advertisement