Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Do the Right Thing

At Home
  • The Anderson Tapes

  • Some Kind of Hero

  • Stanley's Gig

  • The Station Agent

  • The Super

  • Pink Cadillac

  • Nuts

  • The Education of Sonny Carson

  • The Five Heartbeats

  • Across 110th Street

1 of 10

Paul Benjamin Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Originally from South Carolina, actor Paul Benjamin made his film debut in 1969 as a bartender in [[Feature~V32558~Midnight Cowboy~midnightcowboy]]. After a small role in [[Performer~P100370~Sidney Lumet~sidneylumet]]'s [[Feature~V2225~The Anderson Tapes~theandersontapes]], he did television work throughout the '70s. A few notable exceptions involved small parts in [[Performer~P181971~Gordon Parks~gordonparks]]' biopic [[Feature~V28656~Leadbelly~leadbelly]] and [[Performer~P111406~Don Siegel~donsiegel]]'s prison film [[Feature~V16027~Escape From Alcatraz~escapefromalcatraz]]. He fared better on CBS in the TV adaptations [[Feature~V24064~I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings~iknowwhythecagedbirdsings]] and [[Feature~V19726~Gideon's Trumpet~gideonstrumpet]]. He got his first major starring role in the HBO movie [[Feature~V31096~The Man Who Broke 1,000 Chains~themanwhobroke1000chains]], based on the novel by [[Performer~P357318~Robert E. Burns~roberteburns]]. On the big screen during the '90s, Benjamin worked with some well-known directors. He appeared in [[Performer~P99175~Spike Lee~spikelee]]'s [[Feature~V14126~Do the Right Thing~dotherightthing]], [[Performer~P114469~Robert Townsend~roberttownsend]]'s [[Feature~V17660~The Five Heartbeats~thefiveheartbeats]], [[Performer~P20455~Bill Duke~billduke]]'s [[Feature~V158646~Hoodlum~hoodlum]], and [[Performer~P111663~John Singleton~johnsingleton]]'s [[Feature~V154623~Rosewood~rosewood]]. On television, he appeared in the 1994 pilot episode of [[Feature~V179305~ER~er[tvseries]]], which led to his recurring role of homeless man Al Ervin during the next few seasons. Benjamin also worked on the [[Feature~V284348~American Masters~americanmasters[tvdocumentaryseries]]] documentary of Pulitzer Prize-winning author Ralph Ellison, which aired on PBS. After 2000, he appeared primarily in small independent films like [[Feature~V206916~Stanley's Gig~stanleysgig]], [[Feature~V278973~The Station Agent~thestationagent]], [[Feature~V282244~Deacons for Defense~deaconsfordefense]], and [[Performer~P34015~James Hunter~jameshunter]]'s 2004 drama Back in the Day. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement