Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Patricia Owens doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • The Fly

  • Give Us the Moon

  • No Down Payment

  • The Gun Runners

  • The Law and Jake Wade

  • Hell to Eternity

  • These Thousand Hills

  • Island in the Sun

  • X-15

  • Sayonara

1 of 10

Patricia Owens Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 17, 1925
  • Died: Aug 31, 2000

Canadian-born actress Patricia Owens moved to England with her parents in 1933, and ten years later, at age 18, she made her motion-picture debut in [[Performer~P92831~Val Guest~valguest]]'s musical comedy [[Feature~V102518~Miss London Ltd.~misslondonltd]] The following year, she had a small role in [[Performer~P90535~Harold French~haroldfrench]]'s social satire [[Feature~V90507~English Without Tears~englishwithouttears]]. Her career continued in this manner for the next few years, Owens getting ever-larger roles in generally better movies (though not always -- the same year in which she worked in the [[Performer~P98857~Launder~franklaunder]]-Gilliat production of [[Feature~V94275~The Happiest Days of Your Life~thehappiestdaysofyourlife]], one of the funniest movies ever made in England, she also appeared in the abysmal [[Feature~V127908~Old Mother Riley, Headmistress~oldmotherrileyheadmistress]]). Her career took a giant step upward when she was seen by a 20th Century Fox executive while performing in a theatrical production of Sabrina Fair and was offered a screen test. The result was a contract with the studio and a move to Hollywood. Her first American film was Island in the Sun (1956) for Fox, and then Owens was loaned out to Warner Bros. to play opposite [[Performer~P8070~Marlon Brando~marlonbrando]] in the drama [[Feature~V43047~Sayonara~sayonara]] (1957), one of the most critically acclaimed movies of the year. Owens spent the rest of 1957 working mostly on loan-out, but it was a 1958 Fox production that secured her place in motion picture history -- as Helene Delambre, the wife of scientist Andre Delambre in [[Feature~V17924~The Fly~thefly]]. Owens carried much of the film's story and drama, which were told in flashback from her character's point-of-view. [[Feature~V17924~The Fly~thefly]] was one of the most successful science fiction movies of the decade; the image of Owens unmasking her stricken husband and screaming at what she sees -- and the shot of her horrified visage seen in a "fly's eye" view -- became one of the defining moments in the genre. Unfortunately for Owens, she never got another movie half as good as [[Feature~V17924~The Fly~thefly]], from Fox or anyone else, and in 1961 was reduced to working in the threadbare, backlot POW/jungle chase drama [[Feature~V109582~Seven Women From Hell~sevenwomenfromhell]]. Owens made occasional television appearances, on series such as Perry Mason and Burke's Law, but these were relatively infrequent. By 1965, she was working in Black Spurs, one of producer [[Performer~P100449~A.C. Lyles~aclyles]]' B-Westerns, renowned for their use of aging genre stars, and Owens retired from movies after portraying [[Performer~P88721~Richard Egan~richardegan]]'s love interest in the low-budget espionage thriller [[Feature~V89280~The Destructors~thedestructors]] (1968). Her last professional appearance was in a 1968 episode of Lassie. ~ Bruce Eder, Rovi

Advertisement