Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Boyhood

At Home
  • A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III

  • Girl in Progress

  • Certifiably Jonathan

  • Beyond Rangoon

  • Lost Highway

  • Fast Food Nation

  • Inside Monkey Zetterland

  • The Secret Agent

  • Searching for Debra Winger

  • Holy Matrimony

1 of 10

Patricia Arquette Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Apr 8, 1968
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Actress Patricia Arquette is the granddaughter of [[Performer~P2420~Cliff Arquette~cliffarquette]], the daughter of character actor [[Performer~P2422~Lewis Arquette~lewisarquette]], and the sister of actors [[Performer~P2417~Rosanna Arquette~rosannaarquette]], [[Performer~P2421~David Arquette~davidarquette]] and [[Performer~P2418~Alexis Arquette~alexisarquette]]. Inaugurating her own film career in the mid-'80s, the actress came into her own with a gallery of fine portrayals in the '90s. In 1993 alone, she was seen as the hero's cousin/inamorata in [[Feature~V16106~Ethan Frome~ethanfrome]]; the strung-out heroine in the stylishly violent road movie [[Feature~V51149~True Romance~trueromance]]; and the hero's lesbian sister in [[Feature~V121609~Inside Monkey Zetterland~insidemonkeyzetterland]]. Arquette closed out 1994 on a fine note with her sympathetic portrayal of Kathy O'Hara, the second wife of Hollywood's "world's worst director," in [[Performer~P83666~Tim Burton~timburton]]'s [[Feature~V132259~Ed Wood~edwood]].

The following year included a starring role in [[Performer~P82431~John Boorman~johnboorman]]'s [[Feature~V134731~Beyond Rangoon~beyondrangoon]] and a marriage to actor [[Performer~P10155~Nicolas Cage~nicolascage]]. In 1996, Arquette had lead roles in a number of films, most notably [[Performer~P166478~David O. Russell~davidorussell]]'s [[Feature~V136022~Flirting With Disaster~flirtingwithdisaster]], in which she played [[Performer~P112816~Ben Stiller~benstiller]]'s put-upon wife. She then switched gears with starring roles in [[Performer~P100454~David Lynch~davidlynch]]'s [[Feature~V154436~Lost Highway~losthighway]] and the thriller [[Feature~V154440~Nightwatch~nightwatch]]. She tried her hand at a Western in 1998, playing the object of [[Performer~P30548~Woody Harrelson~woodyharrelson]]'s and [[Performer~P223041~Billy Crudup~billycrudup]]'s desires in [[Performer~P90460~Stephen Frears~stephenfrears]]' [[Feature~V174295~The Hi-Lo Country~thehilocountry]]. Despite an interesting premise and excellent cast, the film flopped, but Arquette continued to work steadily the following year, with lead roles in the black comedy [[Feature~V162466~Goodbye Lover~goodbyelover]]; [[Feature~V180776~Stigmata~stigmata]], in which she starred opposite [[Performer~P10031~Gabriel Byrne~gabrielbyrne]] as the unwitting target of a supernatural phenomenon; and [[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]]'s Bringing out the Dead, a film starring Arquette's then-husband [[Performer~P10155~Cage~nicolascage]] as a burnt-out paramedic.

Following the weightiness of the creepy [[Feature~V180776~Stigmata~stigmata]] and the disturbing [[Feature~V180989~Bringing Out the Dead~bringingoutthedead]], Arquette took things in a decidedly lighter direction with her next two projects. In 2000, she played Adam Sandler's love-interest in the comedy Little Nicky, while the following year found her opposite Tim Robbins in the off-the-wall Human Nature. Written by Being John Malkovich scribe Charlie Kaufman, Human Nature was the feature debut from acclaimed music-video director Michel Gondry and featured Arquette as a woman cursed with a coat of fur covering her body.

As the decade progressed, audiences could see Arquette in projects ranging from the star-studded documentary Searching for Debra Winger to the sleeper family film Holes. Then in 2005, Arquette found a truly resonant role, starring the psychic Allison Dubois on the extremely popular supernatural drama Medium. The show would run from 2005 to 2011, and Arquette would follow it up with a role alongside Bill Murray and Jason Schwartzman in A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement