Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Pride

At Home
  • Pride

  • The Double

  • Girl on a Bicycle

  • The World's End

  • Tyrannosaur

  • Submarine

  • The Backwoods

  • The Bourne Ultimatum

  • Hot Fuzz

  • Dead Man's Shoes

1 of 10

Paddy Considine Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 1974
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Born in England, Paddy Considine worked as a photographer before turning to acting full-time. In 1999, he made quite a worthwhile film debut in the comedy drama [[Feature~V181036~A Room for Romeo Brass~aroomforromeobrass]], directed by [[Performer~P213819~Shane Meadows~shanemeadows]]. He played Morell, the strange and dangerous character who comes between the two 12-year-old leads ([[Performer~P271578~Andrew Shim~andrewshim]] and [[Performer~P271579~Ben Marshall~benmarshall]]). In 2000, he turned to more intimate drama in [[Performer~P241274~Pawel Pawlikowski~pawelpawlikowski]]'s [[Feature~V212198~Last Resort~lastresort]]. He won festival acclaim for his role of Alfie, an arcade owner in Northern England who befriends a Russian immigrant ([[Performer~P235542~Dina Korzun~dinakorzun]]) and her son (Artiom Strelnikov). Considine returned to lighter material for his next few films: the relationship comedy [[Feature~V226993~Born Romantic~bornromantic]], the strangely dark crime comedy [[Feature~V253771~Happy Now~happynow]], and the poorly received nightmare-vacation film [[Feature~V255636~The Martins~themartins]]. By 2002, he had started to gain a little more international exposure outside of the U.K. He portrayed [[Performer~P104342~New Order~neworder]] manager Rob Groton in [[Performer~P194595~Michael Winterbottom~michaelwinterbottom]]'s [[Feature~V260399~24 Hour Party People~24hourpartypeople]], a funny biopic about the Manchester music scene that was shown at the Cannes Film Festival. After starring in [[Performer~P231956~Nick Willing~nickwilling]]'s crime thriller [[Feature~V273181~Hypnotic~closeyoureyes]] (also released as [[Feature~V273181~Doctor Sleep~closeyoureyes]]), he got his first major leading role in [[Performer~P111165~Jim Sheridan~jimsheridan]]'s semi-autobiographic drama [[Feature~V267632~In America~inamerica]]. Considine adopted an Irish accent to play Johnny, [[Performer~P111165~Sheridan~jimsheridan]]'s fictional counterpart. An out-of-work actor, Johnny immigrates to New York City with his wife ([[Performer~P230665~Samantha Morton~samanthamorton]]), daughters ([[Performer~P340180~Emma~emmabolger]] and [[Performer~P306511~Sarah Bolger~sarahbolger]]), and a lot of emotional baggage. Considine also appeared in the [[Performer~P353077~Coldplay~coldplay]] music video for "God Put a Smile on Your Face". ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement