Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Olivia Wilde doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Her

  • Rush

  • Drinking Buddies

  • The Incredible Burt Wonderstone

  • Deadfall

  • The Words

  • Butter

  • People Like Us

  • In Time

  • Cowboys & Aliens

1 of 10

Olivia Wilde Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Mar 10, 1984
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

On many an occasion, Olivia Wilde's sleek hair (which alternated between blonde and coal black), sultry figure, and haunting blue eyes typecast her in the mold of an evil seductress and vamp. The N.Y.-born Wilde -- not a blood relation to the famous writer [[Performer~P218880~Oscar Wilde~oscarwilde]], as is commonly assumed, but one inspired by him, who borrowed his surname -- launched into show business with a portrayal of Jewel Goldman, the female lead of [[Performer~P83309~Jerry Bruckheimer~jerrybruckheimer]]'s short-lived Fox drama [[Feature~V296386~Skin~skin[tvseries]]] (2003). The series constituted an update of Romeo and Juliet and depicted the romance between a porn producer's daughter and a district attorney's son. It folded not long after it premiered, but provided a convenient showcase for Wilde's talents. After key roles in two drug-themed features -- the [[Performer~P11630~Nick Cassavetes~nickcassavetes]]-directed [[Feature~V317023~Alpha Dog~alphadog]] and director [[Performer~P94208~John Herzfeld~johnherzfeld]]'s [[Feature~V381237~Bobby Z~bobbyz]] -- Wilde catapulted sensationalism-hungry viewers to their television sets when she portrayed a lesbian bartender who attempts to seduce lovely [[Performer~P230231~Mischa Barton~mischabarton]] on [[Feature~V291496~The O.C.~theoc[tvseries]]] She then received regular billing as Jenny Reilly on [[Feature~V375457~The Black Donnellys~theblackdonnellys[tvseries]]] (2007), an NBC series about the exploits of an Irish crime family residing in Hell's Kitchen, which didn't make it past its first season. Wilde rebounded quickly with a coveted role on the smash-hit Fox medical series [[Feature~V317815~House~house[tvseries]]], joining the cast during the show's [[Feature~V398813~fourth season~house:season04]]. She remained on the show for three seasons, and also built up a big-screen career with roles in Year One, Tron: Legacy, The Change-Up, Butter, Cowboys & Aliens, and People Like Us. Once leaving House, she largely focused on her film work, often alternating bigger budget films (like 2013's Rush) with smaller, independent films (like 2013's Drinking Buddies, which she also executive produced). ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement