Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Get On Up

  • Bad Santa

  • Being John Malkovich

1 of 3
At Home
  • Get On Up

  • Snowpiercer

  • Fruitvale Station

  • Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

  • Paradise

  • Smashed

  • The Help

  • Flypaper

  • Dinner for Schmucks

  • Pretty Ugly People

1 of 10

Octavia L. Spencer Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Alabama native Octavia Spencer was working as part of the crew for the 1996 thriller [[Feature~V224530~A Time to Kill~iepohitondolofonon]] when she was handed the chance of a lifetime: Director [[Performer~P110432~Joel Schumacher~joelschumacher]] thought she was right for a small role in the film, and Spencer's acting career was born. In addition to honing her craft on the professional stages of Los Angeles, Spencer continued to act on screen, appearing in a multitude of projects, including [[Feature~V177528~Never Been Kissed~neverbeenkissed]], [[Feature~V180775~Blue Streak~bluestreak]], [[Feature~V187112~Big Momma's House~bigmommashouse]], [[Feature~V380050~Dinner for Schmucks~dinnerforschmucks]], and [[Feature~V525874~Peep World~peepworld]]. Spencer also became a familiar TV face, with starring and recurring roles on [[Feature~V314879~LAX~lax[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V361841~Ugly Betty~uglybetty[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V390879~Halfway Home~halfwayhome[tvseries]]], and [[Feature~V468733~Raising the Bar~raisingthebar[tvseries]]]. A major boon for Spencer arrived in 2011 when, after 15 years in the industry, her performance in the critically acclaimed period movie [[Feature~V523211~The Help~thehelp]] earned her an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress. ~ Cammila Collar, Rovi

Advertisement