Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Norm MacDonald doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Jack and Jill

  • Grown Ups

  • Christmas is Here Again

  • Senior Skip Day

  • Farce of the Penguins

  • Dr. Dolittle 2

  • Screwed

  • Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo

  • Man on the Moon

  • Dirty Work

1 of 10

Norm MacDonald Biography

  • Profession: Actor, Screenwriter
  • Born: Oct 17, 1963
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Fired in bitter haste from [[Feature~V175321~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]] and following up with two career-crippling film credits, Norm Macdonald's career has been spiraling into disaster since 1997 -- "or so the Germans would have us believe." Though he began his career as a stand-up comedian in Ottawa, most people's familiarity with MacDonald derives from his three-year stint as Weekend Update anchor on the ever-enduring [[Feature~V175321~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]]. Realizing that a change in location was the key to success, MacDonald packed his bags and took his routine to L.A, where he continued to refine his specific brand of acerbic wit through his stand-up act. In addition, MacDonald became a writer for the popular sitcom Roseanne, as well as The Dennis Miller Show.
It was a long road to following in the footsteps of [[Performer~P12488~Chevy Chase~chevychase]] and [[Performer~P121882~Dennis Miller~dennismiller]] in dragging the current headlines through the mud (and a not so happy ending to cap it off). Beginning his [[Feature~V175321~SNL~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]] career as a bit player in the 1993, the torch was passed from [[Performer~P52034~Kevin Nealon~kevinnealon]] to Norm MacDonald in the beginning of the show's 1994 season. After an exhausting barrage of [[Performer~P65865~O.J. Simpson~ojsimpson]] and [[Performer~P112461~Frank Stallone~frankstallone]] jokes, however, NBC president [[Performer~P104982~Don Ohlmeyer~donohlmeyer]] pulled the plug on MacDonald's Weekend Update career, citing that the anchor was simply "not funny."
After taking small roles in [[Performer~P62990~Adam Sandler~adamsandler]] comedies and bit parts on The Drew Carey Show, MacDonald continued the cursed [[Feature~V175321~SNL~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]] tradition of tackling feature films. MacDonald's awkward attempts at feature-film stardom in [[Feature~V162712~Dirty Work~dirtywork]] and [[Feature~V181133~Screwed~screwed]] did little to please mainstream audiences ([[Feature~V181133~Screwed~screwed]] failed even to recuperate its 10-million-dollar production costs) but pleased his loyal fans nonetheless. In early 1999, Norm MacDonald became the star of his very own television sitcom, The Norm Show. Cast as a scheming ex-hockey star-turned-social worker who never fails to get himself into constant mischief, The Norm Show -- later shortened to just Norm) -- co-starred [[Performer~P48695~Laurie Metcalf~lauriemetcalf]], [[Performer~P268217~Ian Gomez~iangomez]], and former [[Feature~V162712~Dirty Work~dirtywork]] co-star [[Performer~P240725~Artie Lang~artielange]]. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

Advertisement