Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Sleepless in Seattle

  • When Harry Met Sally

1 of 2
At Home
  • Compromising Positions

  • This Is My Life

  • Cookie

  • Julie & Julia

  • Bewitched

  • Heartburn

  • The Super

  • Best Friends

  • Hanging Up

  • Husbands and Wives

1 of 10

Nora Ephron Biography

  • Profession: Screenwriter, Director, Producer
  • Born: May 19, 1941
  • Died: Jun 26, 2012

The daughter of author/screenwriters Phoebe and [[Performer~P89039~Henry Ephron~henryephron]], Nora Ephron was educated at Wellesley. She first made her mark as humorist, satirist, and dead-on parodist in book form (Crazy Salad) and in magazine articles. Ephron's first movie assignment was the Oscar-nominated screenplay for [[Feature~V44734~Silkwood~silkwood]] (1983). Her stormy marriage to Washington Post reporter Carl Bernstein provided grist for her roman a clef [[Feature~V21917~Heartburn~heartburn]], which she adapted into an uneven 1986 film directed by Mike Nichols

Ephron struck gold with her script for the blockbuster [[Feature~V54134~When Harry Met Sally...~whenharrymetsally]] (1989) and kept turning out work in the romantic comedy vein until her death. After a few so-so writing and producing assignments, she made her directing bow with [[Feature~V49544~This Is My Life~thisismylife]] (1992), which she co-wrote with sister [[Performer~P167232~Delia Ephron~deliaephron]]. She then served as director and writer of [[Feature~V45166~Sleepless in Seattle~sleeplessinseattle]], one of the highest-grossing releases of 1993. Five years later, she re-teamed with Sleepless stars [[Performer~P93341~Tom Hanks~tomhanks]] and [[Performer~P62388~Meg Ryan~megryan]] for [[Feature~V174227~You've Got Mail~youvegotmail]]; another New York-based romantic comedy, it was one of the most successful films of 1998. The following year, Ephron and sister Delia collaborated on [[Feature~V181279~Hanging Up~hangingup]], a comedy-drama based on a novel of Delia's. The story of three sisters who pull together to cope with the imminent death of their father ([[Performer~P46456~Walter Matthau~waltermatthau]]), it starred [[Performer~P96996~Diane Keaton~dianekeaton]], [[Performer~P62388~Meg Ryan~megryan]], and [[Performer~P39535~Lisa Kudrow~lisakudrow]]. She then had a pair of lackluster directorial outings with Lucky Numbers and a big-screen meta remake of the supernatural sitcom Bewitched. But her 2009 film Julie & Julia - which Ephron scripted, directed and produced - was a box office hit and earned Meryl Streep an Oscar nomination for Best Actress.

Ephron passed away on June 26, 2012 after a lengthy battle with leukemia. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement