Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Hebrew Hammer

At Home
  • 3, 2, 1... Frankie Go Boom

  • The Guilt Trip

  • LOL

  • Certifiably Jonathan

  • Archie's Final Project

  • It's Complicated

  • The Answer Man

  • Pineapple Express

  • Southland Tales

  • The Civilization of Maxwell Bright

1 of 10

Nora Dunn Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Apr 29, 1952
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Comedic actress Nora Dunn has frequently played acerbic character roles in films and TV as foils to generally likeable leads. She was a regular cast member on [[Feature~V175321~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]] from 1985 to 1990, when she left due to the controversial episode with musical guest [[Performer~P104823~Sinead O'Connor~sinéadoconnor]] and host [[Performer~P13535~Andrew Dice Clay~andrewdiceclay]]. During her five-year run, she played several talk show hosts and was one of the Sweeney Sisters, along with [[Performer~P33135~Jan Hooks~janhooks]]. She made her film debut in [[Performer~P104435~Mike Nichols~mikenichols]]' [[Feature~V55284~Working Girl~workinggirl]] (1988) as a jaded office worker, followed by [[Performer~P94676~Savage Steve Holland~savagesteveholland]]'s [[Feature~V23426~How I Got Into College~howigotintocollege]] (1989) as an SAT coach. Her next few films were less successful: [[Feature~V46844~Stepping Out~steppingout]], [[Feature~V6740~Born Yesterday~bornyesterday]], and [[Feature~V131227~I Love Trouble~ilovetrouble]]. She turned back to TV and joined the cast of the NBC drama Sisters as the lesbian TV producer Norma Lear, followed by the CBS comedy The Nanny as Dr. Reynolds. In the late '90s, she had a few small yet funny roles in the more successful films [[Feature~V154322~The Last Supper~thelastsupper]], [[Feature~V158810~Bulworth~bulworth]], [[Feature~V180250~Drop Dead Gorgeous~dropdeadgorgeous]], and [[Feature~V180980~Three Kings~threekings]]. She also used her vocal talent to provide voices for the animated TV shows [[Feature~V177618~Futurama~futurama[animatedtvseries]]], [[Feature~V168227~The Wild Thornberrys~thewildthornberrys[animatedtvseries]]], and Histeria! In 2001, she played the mom in [[Feature~V253783~Max Keeble's Big Move~maxkeeblesbigmove]], a fashion designer in [[Feature~V252771~Zoolander~zoolander]], and Miss Madness in [[Feature~V239034~Heartbreakers~heartbreakers]]. Her 2003 projects include the independent comedy [[Feature~V278967~Die Mommie Die~diemommiedie]], the [[Performer~P11257~Jim Carrey~jimcarrey]] feature [[Feature~V278865~Bruce Almighty~brucealmighty]], and the romantic comedy Laws of Attraction. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement