Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Niels Arestrup doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • You Will Be My Son

  • Our Children

  • The Big Picture

  • War Horse

  • Sarah's Key

  • A Prophet

  • Meeting Venus

  • The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

  • The Beat That My Heart Skipped

1 of 9

Niels Arestrup Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

European screen performer Niels Arestrup grew up in a middle-class family of Danish extraction, and gravitated toward acting as a young man, studying under the aegis of legendary drama instructor [[Performer~P229747~Tania Balachova~taniabalachova]]. He took his initial foray into acting on-stage, but quickly moved into filmed work as well, in such noteworthy big-screen productions as [[Performer~P79189~Chantal Akerman~chantalakerman]]'s [[Feature~V25995~Je Tu Il Elle~jetuilelle]] (1974), [[Performer~P108005~Alain Resnais~alainresnais]]' [[Feature~V46735~Stavisky~stavisky]] (1974), and [[Performer~P103455~Jeanne Moreau~jeannemoreau]]'s [[Feature~V30471~Lumière~lumière]] (1976). Arestrup's heavy involvement in theater continued over the following several decades, yet he remained extremely prolific on film, reaching memorable high points with leads in [[Performer~P89652~Marco Ferreri~marcoferreri]]'s unusual, provocative erotic drama [[Feature~V157984~The Future Is Woman~ilfuturoèdonna]] (1984) and [[Performer~P113441~István Szabó~istvánszabó]]'s Karin Anderson biopic [[Feature~V32088~Meeting Venus~meetingvenus]] (1991). In 2007, Arestrup achieved some international crossover success with his supporting contribution to [[Performer~P214355~Julian Schnabel~julianschnabel]]'s acclaimed [[Performer~P519943~Jean-Dominique Bauby~jeandominiquebauby]] biopic [[Feature~V395604~The Diving Bell and the Butterfly~thedivingbellandthebutterfly]]. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement