Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Horton Hears a Who

At Home
  • Walk of Shame

  • Nurse

  • G-Force

  • The Proposal

  • Not Easily Broken

  • Horton Hears a Who

  • Reno 911!: Miami

  • Code Name: The Cleaner

  • Guess Who

  • Hair Show

1 of 10

Niecy Nash Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A Renaissance performer who is perfectly at home (and who has proven herself adept) in a broad array of genres and formats, Niecy Nash dreamed of an acting career from early girlhood. She trained as a theater major at California State University, Dominguez Hills, then obtained her first paid acting assignment by virtue of an L.A.-area casting director who enlisted her in [[Performer~P108981~Herbert Ross~herbertross]]' 1995 comedy drama [[Feature~V133983~Boys on the Side~boysontheside]]. That assignment resulted in a memorable scene opposite [[Performer~P27431~Whoopi Goldberg~whoopigoldberg]], and Nash followed it up four years later with a small role in [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]]'s comedy [[Feature~V175951~Cookie's Fortune~cookiesfortune]] (1999). The actress made her most enduring impact on television, however, with guest spots on [[Feature~V216959~NYPD Blue~nypdblue[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V220880~CSI: Crime Scene Investigation~csi:crimesceneinvestigation[tvseries]]], vocal work as Tollie Mae on the offbeat animated sitcom [[Feature~V295951~Kid Notorious~kidnotorious[animatedtvseries]]], and -- perhaps most endearingly -- a regular assignment as Deputy Raineesha Williams on the raunchy, rollicking police-themed sitcom [[Feature~V290799~Reno 911!~reno911[tvseries]]] In 2007, Nash starred as the character of Jacuzzi opposite [[Performer~P237294~Cedric the Entertainer~cedrictheentertainer]] and [[Performer~P267831~Lucy Liu~lucyliu]] in the comic thriller [[Feature~V327469~Code Name: The Cleaner~codename:thecleaner]]. Nash also hosted the Style Network's home-makeover series [[Feature~V294904~Clean House~cleanhouse[tvseries]]], and emceed both Emmy and Oscar pre-shows. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement