Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Mos Def doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Poliwood

  • Next Day Air

  • Cadillac Records

  • Be Kind Rewind

  • Journey to the End of the Night

  • Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby

  • 16 Blocks

  • Dave Chappelle's Block Party

  • The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  • The Woodsman

1 of 10

Mos Def Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Dec 11, 1973
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Mos Def may seem, to the casual observer, like a rare example of a musician successfully transitioning into acting, but in truth, his acclaimed music career did not take off until long after he'd cemented himself as a working actor. Nonetheless, the man has built both his music and film careers on a foundation of integrity, earning him critical praise and audience approval for both. His contributions to the underground hip-hop scene started with the 1996 single "Universal Magnetic," a rare example of introspection in a genre dominated by blustering and callousness. Def's film debut, however, came almost ten years before, when he appeared in the 1988 TV movie [[Feature~V20045~God Bless the Child~godblessthechild]] at the age of 15. Then going by his birth name, [[Performer~P66392~Dante Terrell Smith~dantesmith]], Mos Def landed appearances on shows like Here and Now, The Cosby Mysteries, [[Feature~V299004~Brooklyn South~brooklynsouth[tvseries]]], [[Feature~V258665~Spin City~spincity[tvseries]]], and [[Feature~V216959~NYPD Blue~nypdblue[tvseries]]]. The spots sustained his career throughout the '90s, as did his roles in feature films like [[Feature~V212423~Bamboozled~bamboozled]] and MTV's [[Feature~V265488~Carmen: A Hip Hopera~carmen:ahiphopera]]. Slowly but steadily becoming a recognizable face in acting, Mos Def continued to take parts in high-quality films, even if this meant a lower profile for himself as an actor. His supporting roles in [[Feature~V257291~Monster's Ball~monstersball]], [[Feature~V266880~Brown Sugar~brownsugar]], [[Feature~V280180~The Italian Job~theitalianjob]], and [[Feature~V301327~The Woodsman~thewoodsman]], however, garnered him attention on talent alone. In 2004, he co-starred in the HBO movie [[Feature~V315644~Something the Lord Made~somethingthelordmade]] with [[Performer~P60157~Alan Rickman~alanrickman]] and was honored with an Emmy nomination for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries or Movie, along with [[Performer~P60157~Rickman~alanrickman]]. By the time Def appeared in 2005's Golden Globe award-winning HBO miniseries [[Feature~V318197~Lackawanna Blues~lackawannablues]] alongside [[Performer~P33528~Terrence Howard~terrencehoward]] and [[Performer~P48559~S. Epatha Merkerson~sepathamerkerson]], he was a recognized and sought-after face in film. Def soon afterward donned a British accent for a leading role in [[Feature~V295710~The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy~thehitchhikersguidetothegalaxy]], giving audiences a taste of his comedic skills -- which were also on display in his recurring role on the hit Comedy Central series Chappelle's Show, as well as Michel Gondry's retro comedy Be Kind, Rewind -- which found the actor playing a hapless video store clerk opposite Jack Black. Increasingly versatile, Def was just as effective as a key witness hoping to avoid assassination in [[Performer~P88048~Richard Donner~richarddonner]]'s [[Feature~V326283~16 Blocks~16blocks]] as he was as legendary rock & roller Chuck Berry in 2008's Cadillac Records. Back on the small screen, Def's recurring role as the haunted Brother Sam on Showtime's Dexter found the actor earning even more critical praise in 2011. ~ Cammila Collar, Rovi

Advertisement