Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Mink Stole doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • Eating Out: All You Can Eat

  • Out at the Wedding

  • The Last Place on Earth

  • Girl Play

  • Cry-Baby

  • A Dirty Shame

  • Polyester

  • Desperate Living

  • Female Trouble

  • Pink Flamingos

1 of 10

Mink Stole Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Born Nancy Stoll in Baltimore, MD, Mink Stole began her acting career in the early '70s as part of [[Performer~P218832~John Waters~johnwaters]]' cast of miscreants. She often played despicable characters, acting as an embodiment of poor taste and a frequent arbiter of nasty schemes. Her first completed project with [[Performer~P218832~Waters~johnwaters]] was the unbearable [[Feature~V139192~Roman Candles~romancandles]], made in 1966 as a three-projection 8 mm film with a tape-recorded soundtrack. After playing some sickos in [[Performer~P218832~Waters~johnwaters]]' next few ventures, Stole appeared in the infamous [[Feature~V38161~Pink Flamingos~pinkflamingos]] as Connie Marbles, the red-haired villain in exaggerated cat-eye glasses and a fur coat. This character set an image for Mink Stole that would follow her for the rest of her career. Stole's next two films marked her most memorable and prominent roles: obnoxious girl-child Taffy Davenport in [[Feature~V17058~Female Trouble~femaletrouble]] and housewife-on-the-run Peggy Gravel in [[Feature~V13410~Desperate Living~desperateliving]]. After playing the cornrowed adulteress Sandra Sullivan in [[Feature~V38632~Polyester~polyester]] (1981), she would continue to get smaller parts in [[Performer~P218832~Waters~johnwaters]]' films, sometimes only for a few scenes. Stole returned to her despicable roots, though, in 1994 as Dottie Hinkle, the obscene phone call victim in [[Feature~V131183~Serial Mom~serialmom]]. The next few years, she appeared in numerous cameos, straight-to-video releases, and made-for-cable productions. Playing small walk-on roles, she brought some name recognition to numerous independent features such as [[Performer~P271127~Jamie Babbit~jamiebabbit]]'s [[Feature~V181371~But I'm a Cheerleader~butimacheerleader]] and [[Performer~P79831~Gregg Araki~greggaraki]]'s [[Feature~V176665~Splendor~splendor]]. After playing a reoccurring character on the short-lived MTV soap opera Spyder Games, she had a few starring roles in dark comedic short films. In 2002, she appeared on-stage with the Los Angeles Women's Shakespeare Company and continued to write an advice column for the Baltimore City Paper called "Think Mink." ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement