Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Summer of Sam

  • Hoodlum

  • Ed Wood

  • The Last Dragon

  • Cruising

1 of 5
At Home
  • Bad Santa 2

  • The Bronx Bull

  • The Girl Is in Trouble

  • Buzzkill

  • Osso Bucco

  • Kill the Irishman

  • Chicago Overcoat

  • Violets Are Blue

  • Ca$h

  • Last Exit to Brooklyn

1 of 10

Mike Starr Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jul 29, 1950
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A character actor whose beefy, imposing build (a magazine once listed him as 6'3" and 245 pounds) typecast him as thugs, hoods, and underworld heavies, performer Mike Starr was raised in the Manhattan area, as the son of a meatpacker and a five-and-dime clerk. He attended Long Island's Hofstra University on a drama scholarship, and -- after graduation -- toiled at menial jobs as a bartender and club bouncer before landing his first film role in [[Performer~P90583~William Friedkin~williamfriedkin]]'s gay-themed cop thriller [[Feature~V11655~Cruising~cruising]] (1980). Many projects ensued over the following decades, including [[Feature~V34607~The Natural~thenatural]] (1984), [[Feature~V51682~Uncle Buck~unclebuck]] (1989, in a memorable bit as a drunken clown), [[Feature~V132259~Ed Wood~edwood]] (1994), and [[Feature~V285898~Jersey Girl~jerseygirl]] (2004). Fans of the gangster-themed comedy [[Feature~V30652~Mad Dog and Glory~maddogandglory]] (1993), in particular, might remember Starr -- he played Harold, the wife-beater husband who gets on [[Performer~P11477~David Caruso~davidcaruso]]'s bad side, and physically suffers for it. In 2007, Starr essayed a rare lead in the character comedy [[Feature~V430855~Osso Bucco~ossobucco]]; he played a gangster unknowingly targeted for death and due for extermination by his cousin. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement