Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • GoldenEye

  • Out of Africa

1 of 2
At Home
  • My Week With Marilyn

  • Enchanted April

  • Dracula A.D. 1972

  • Caught on a Train

  • Mrs. Dalloway

  • GoldenEye

  • The Russia House

  • Proof of Life

  • The World Is Not Enough

  • Out of Africa

1 of 10

Michael Kitchen Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Oct 31, 1948
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Since performing in a play at the City of Leicester Boys School, Michael Kitchen has done practically all there is for an actor to do: motion pictures, TV films, TV miniseries, stage plays, radio plays, and audio cassettes. International film audiences probably know him best as Chief of Staff Bill Tanner in the [[Performer~P8836~Pierce Brosnan~piercebrosnan]] James Bond productions, although he has played major roles in other high-profile movies, such as [[Feature~V36787~Out of Africa~outofafrica]] (1985) and [[Feature~V158679~Mrs. Dalloway~mrsdalloway]] (1997). He is also well known to worldwide TV audiences for major roles in popular miniseries, including [[Feature~V264499~The Brontes of Haworth~thebrontesofhaworth]] (1973), A Fall of Eagles (1974), Freud (1984), and [[Feature~V227071~Oliver Twist~olivertwist]] (1999). 2000 was a remarkable year for Kitchen -- incredibly, he completed the following productions during that year: [[Feature~V227134~Proof of Life~proofoflife]], a major film in which he shared the screen with [[Performer~P15959~Russell Crowe~russellcrowe]] and [[Performer~P62388~Meg Ryan~megryan]]; [[Feature~V239472~Lorna Doone~lornadoone]], a three-hour TV miniseries; Always and Everyone, an eight-hour TV series resembling America's [[Feature~V179305~ER~er[tvseries]]]; [[Feature~V270055~The Secret World of Michael Fry~thesecretworldofmichaelfry]], a TV miniseries; [[Feature~V230281~The Railway Children~therailwaychildren]], a TV film shown in the U.K. and in the U.S. on [[Feature~V240704~Masterpiece Theatre~masterpiecetheatre[tvseries]]]; [[Feature~V193556~New Year's Day~newyearsday]], a major motion picture; and Second Sight: Parasomnia, another TV film. For an encore in 2001, he played the title role in Foyle's War, an eight-hour TV series about a World War II-era detective, then played Foyle again in another eight-hour series in 2002. He also signed on for another James Bond film, his third. Between 1971 -- when he appeared in the film [[Feature~V115203~Unman, Wittering and Zigo~unmanwitteringandzigo]] -- and the present, Kitchen has never wanted for work. The reason, quite simply, is that he is one of Britain's finest and most versatile actors. He has walked across the stages of the most prestigious playhouses in England, performing the works of [[Performer~P314726~Shakespeare~williamshakespeare]], [[Performer~P218880~Oscar Wilde~oscarwilde]], and other important playwrights. In motion pictures, he has also acted parts in productions based on the works of [[Performer~P217647~Franz Kafka~franzkafka]] ([[Feature~V81758~The Trial~thetrial]], 1993), [[Performer~P315061~Robert Louis Stevenson~robertlouisstevenson]] ([[Feature~V162844~Kidnapped~kidnapped]], 1995), [[Performer~P167789~John Le Carre~johnlecarré]] ([[Feature~V42394~The Russia House~therussiahouse]], 1990), and [[Performer~P218523~Nevil Shute~nevilshute]] ([[Feature~V124726~Crossing to Freedom~crossingtofreedom]], 1990). ~ Mike Cummings, Rovi

Advertisement