Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Michael Ealy doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • The Perfect Guy

  • Think Like a Man Too

  • About Last Night

  • Last Vegas

  • Unconditional

  • Think Like a Man

  • Underworld: Awakening

  • For Colored Girls

  • Takers

  • Seven Pounds

1 of 10

Michael Ealy Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

A native of Silver Spring, MD, suave and clean-cut actor Michael Ealy appeared on-camera from the late '90s. He began on the small screen, with guest appearances on network programs including [[Feature~V274506~Law & Order~laworder:prescriptionfordeath]] and [[Feature~V179305~ER~er[tvseries]]], but scored his breakout role with a much-favored turn as Ricky Nash, a convict-in-the-running with several past charges against him, in the predominantly African American ensemble comedies [[Feature~V260400~Barbershop~barbershop]] (2002) and [[Feature~V283323~Barbershop 2: Back in Business~barbershop2:backinbusiness]] (2004). The billing in these projects was somewhat prescient: Ealy continued to take challenging and unique supporting roles and gradually worked his way up the Hollywood ladder, openly declaring himself in no hurry to become a top-billed star. Additional projects included the action sagas [[Feature~V280222~2 Fast 2 Furious~2fast2furious]] (2003) and [[Feature~V282770~S.W.A.T.~swat]] (2003) and the psychological thriller [[Feature~V287475~November~november]] (2003), but Ealy netted much greater acclaim -- and flexed some impressive dramatic muscle -- with his portrayal of Teacake in the [[Performer~P76901~Oprah Winfrey~oprahwinfrey]]-produced telemovie [[Feature~V322987~Their Eyes Were Watching God~oprahwinfreypresents:theireyeswerewatchinggod]] (2005). He then landed the incredibly demanding and edgy lead role of Darwyn Al-Sayeed, a terrorist plotting an attack on the United States, in the Showtime original miniseries [[Feature~V338091~Sleeper Cell~sleepercell[tvseries]]] (2005). In 2008, Ealy starred opposite [[Performer~P66596~Will Smith~willsmith]] and [[Performer~P199028~Rosario Dawson~rosariodawson]] in the earnest suicide drama [[Feature~V416201~Seven Pounds~sevenpounds]], directed by [[Performer~P266410~Gabriele Muccino~gabrielemuccino]] ([[Feature~V326489~The Pursuit of Happyness~thepursuitofhappyness]]). Ealy took on a leading role as a Bishop hiding in a small Italian village that opposes the Nazi cause in Spike Lee's acclaimed war drama Miracle at St. Anna (2008), and co-starred with Julianna Margulies and Michael J. Fox in the CBS television series The Good Wife the following year. In 2010 he played a supporting role in the crime thriller Takers, and starred in the romantic comedy Think Like a Man in 2010. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement