Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Red Dawn

At Home
  • Things Never Said

  • Red Dawn

  • Sparkle

  • Late for Dinner

  • America the Beautiful

  • First Sunday

  • Full Count

  • Stargate: The Ark of Truth

  • Short Cuts

  • Guilty As Charged

1 of 10

Michael Beach Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Trained at Juilliard, actor Michael Beach worked in regional theater and off-Broadway productions before moving to Los Angeles to work on television and film. His stage credits include Much Ado About Nothing and Ascension Day. Though he appeared on television a lot in the late '80s, his film breakthrough came in [[Performer~P90385~Carl Franklin~carlfranklin]]'s 1991 crime thriller [[Feature~V36360~One False Move~onefalsemove]]. He played the ex-con Pluto opposite [[Performer~P70825~Billy Bob Thornton~billybobthornton]], who also co-wrote the script. [[Performer~P70825~Thornton~billybobthornton]] later wrote the role of Virgil for Beach in the 1996 drama [[Feature~V136023~A Family Thing~afamilything]], starring [[Performer~P36131~James Earl Jones~jamesearljones]]. In 1993, he was a part of the ensemble cast in [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]]'s award-winning feature [[Feature~V122494~Short Cuts~shortcuts]]. After playing opposite [[Performer~P23625~Laurence Fishburne~laurencefishburne]] in the crime thriller [[Feature~V133984~Bad Company~badcompany]] (1995), Beach went on to play several unfaithful husbands. He cheated on [[Performer~P4466~Angela Bassett~angelabassett]] in [[Feature~V135505~Waiting to Exhale~waitingtoexhale]] (1995), [[Performer~P235346~Vanessa Williams~vanessaawilliams]] in [[Feature~V158537~Soul Food~soulfood]] (1997), and [[Performer~P150595~Gloria Reuben~gloriareuben]] on [[Feature~V179305~ER~er[tvseries]]]. Fellow [[Feature~V179305~ER~er[tvseries]]] cast member [[Performer~P39796~Eriq La Salle~eriqlasalle]] cast Beach in his sports drama [[Feature~V162636~Rebound: The Legend of Earl 'The Goat' Manigault~rebound:thelegendofearlthegoatmanigault]] (1996) for HBO. Back on television, Beach earned an Image Award for his role of Monte 'Doc' Parker on the NBC dramatic series [[Feature~V181330~Third Watch~thirdwatch[tvseries]]]. In 2002, he re-teamed with actor/director [[Performer~P39796~La Salle~eriqlasalle]] for the lead role of Dr. Ty Adams in the thriller [[Feature~V262780~Crazy as Hell~crazyashell]]. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement