Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Tracks

  • Crimson Peak

  • Alice in Wonderland

1 of 3
At Home
  • The Double

  • Only Lovers Left Alive

  • Stoker

  • Lawless

  • Albert Nobbs

  • Jane Eyre

  • The Kids Are All Right

  • That Evening Sun

  • Alice in Wonderland

  • Amelia

1 of 10

Mia Wasikowska Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 1, 0001
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

After accepting supporting roles in several projects produced in Australia (including the 2006 [[Feature~V334262~Suburban Mayhem~suburbanmayhem]] and the 2007 [[Feature~V387821~September~september]]), beautiful yet distinguished actress Mia Wasikowska -- a Canberra native -- broke through to international acclaim with her role as self-defeating Olympic-hopeful gymnast Sophie on the HBO series drama [[Feature~V428787~In Treatment~intreatment[tvseries]]] (2008). That assignment predated Wasikowska's starring roles for two A-list directors: a turn as the aviator Elinor Smith in [[Performer~P103995~Mira Nair~miranair]]'s biopic [[Feature~V431074~Amelia~amelia]] (2009), and another as the little girl adrift in a colorful fantasyland in [[Performer~P83666~Tim Burton~timburton]]'s [[Performer~P216853~Lewis Carroll~lewiscarroll]] adaptation [[Feature~V424944~Alice in Wonderland~aliceinwonderland]] (2010). Meanwhile, she also acted opposite [[Performer~P15549~Daniel Craig~danielcraig]], [[Performer~P197753~Liev Schreiber~lievschreiber]], and others in the WWII-era adventure drama [[Feature~V399982~Defiance~defiance]] (2008), helmed by [[Performer~P118079~Edward Zwick~edwardzwick]] ([[Feature~V284009~The Last Samurai~thelastsamurai]]). She was the daughter of the lesbian couple at the heart of The Kids Are All Right, and acted for In Treatment show runner Rodrigo Garcia in his period drama Albert Nobbs. She earned strong reviews for her work as Jane Eyre in 2011, and starred as a teen cancer victim in Gus Van Sant's Restless. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement