Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters

Mia Kirshner doesn't have any movies playing in theaters.

If you feel like heading out, check out other movies in theaters.

At Home
  • The Barrens

  • 388 Arletta Avenue

  • Love and Human Remains

  • Anna Karenina

  • 30 Days of Night: Dark Days

  • Miss Conception

  • The Black Dahlia

  • Now & Forever

  • Not Another Teen Movie

  • The Grass Harp

1 of 10

Mia Kirshner Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jan 25, 1975
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Canadian actress Mia Kirshner is known in her native country and beyond for her portrayals of moderately to deeply troubled young women who often harbor dark secrets. Born in Toronto in 1975, where she was raised by a journalist father and a teacher mother, Kirshner broke into films in 1993. That year, she starred as a bad seed teenager intent on seducing her mother's boyfriend in [[Feature~V121912~Cadillac Girls~cadillacgirls]] and played a dominatrix in [[Performer~P79862~Denys Arcand~denysarcand]]'s [[Feature~V148444~Love and Human Remains~loveandhumanremains]].
Kirshner had another career breakthrough the following year playing a young stripper with a surprising past identity in [[Performer~P88743~Atom Egoyan~atomegoyan]]'s widely acclaimed [[Feature~V134260~Exotica~exotica]]. The actress' work in the celebrated film attracted the notice of American casting agents, who promptly cast her in supporting roles in [[Feature~V133971~Murder in the First~murderinthefirst]] (1995) and the Southern gothic coming-of-age tale [[Feature~V135059~The Grass Harp~thegrassharp]] (also 1995). Although she subsequently won lead roles in [[Feature~V154411~The Crow: City of Angels~thecrow:cityofangels]] (1996) -- in which she played up her dark Goth looks as the tattoo artist who befriends [[Performer~P56052~Vincent Perez~vincentperez]] -- and [[Feature~V158854~Mad City~madcity]] (1997), which cast her as journalist [[Performer~P94585~Dustin Hoffman~dustinhoffman]]'s intern, Kirshner has had difficulty making a name for herself in Hollywood. She continues to appear in both lead and supporting roles in such independent and/or small features as [[Feature~V180133~Saturn~speedoflife]] (1999), a drama that cast her as the hedonistic girlfriend of a young man ([[Performer~P195366~Scott Caan~scottcaan]]) caring for his Alzheimer's-stricken father. Keeping busy well into the new millennium, Kirshner would later appear in the real-time television series 24, as well as Not Another Teen Movie (both 2001), a parody of the recent wave of high school themed films. A featured role in the popular Showtime series The L Word found Kirshner continuing to court success on the small screen, and in 2006 she would head back to the big screen as the ill-fated actress who sparks a legendary Hollywood investigation in director Brian De Palma's The Black Dahlia. Kirshner woudl spend the next several years earrning acclaim for her roles on The L Word and The Vamprie Diaries, as well as movies like 30 Days of Night. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Advertisement