Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • The Imitation Game

  • Belle

1 of 2
At Home
  • Stoker

  • Burning Man

  • A Single Man

  • Leap Year

  • Watchmen

  • Brideshead Revisited

  • The Lookout

  • Copying Beethoven

  • Imagine Me & You

  • Match Point

1 of 10

Matthew Goode Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Apr 3, 1976
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

English actor Matthew Goode took his Hollywood bow on a prestigious note, as Casper, one of the key characters in the well-received Alliance Atlantis telemovie [[Feature~V268343~Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister~confessionsofanuglystepsister]] (2002). The film constituted a revisionist update of the Cinderella story, adapted from the best-selling novel by [[Performer~P336328~Gregory Maguire~gregorymaguire]], and premiered on ABC to stellar ratings, virtually guaranteeing success for Goode and his fellow players. The young actor achieved his next coup not long after, landing a role in the romantic comedy [[Feature~V291580~Chasing Liberty~chasingliberty]] (2004), opposite pop diva and heartthrob [[Performer~P292631~Mandy Moore~mandymoore]]. In that movie, Goode portrayed a British playboy who falls for the first daughter of the U.S. president ([[Performer~P292631~Moore~mandymoore]]), wholly unaware of her identity -- meanwhile guarding a little secret of his own.

Goode demonstrated his versatility as Tom Hewett in [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]]'s deadly serious, British-borne thriller [[Feature~V326909~Match Point~matchpoint]] (2005) and returned to romantic comedy as a groom whose bride ([[Performer~P271240~Piper Perabo~piperperabo]]) falls for another woman on the day of their wedding, in the 2006 [[Feature~V316425~Imagine Me & You~imaginemeyou]]. Following a critically praised appearance in [[Performer~P90346~Scott Frank~scottfrank]]'s 2007 caper thriller [[Feature~V333762~The Lookout~thelookout]] (opposite [[Performer~P16881~Jeff Daniels~jeffdaniels]] and [[Performer~P27836~Joseph Gordon-Levitt~josephgordonlevitt]]), Goode hearkened back to England for a much-anticipated portrayal of Charles Ryder in the 2008 big-screen adaptation of [[Performer~P311680~Evelyn Waugh~evelynwaugh]]'s Brideshead Revisited. He was also cast as Ozymandias in the hotly anticipated comic-book superhero film [[Feature~V353567~Watchmen~watchmen]] (2009), adapted from the acclaimed [[Performer~P318637~Alan Moore~alanmoore]] graphic novel. He followed that up with an appearance in Tom Ford's directorial debut A Single Man. The romantic comedy Leap Year came the next year, and the Australian comedy drama Burning Man in 2011. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

Advertisement