Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Some Kind of Wonderful

At Home
  • The Cake Eaters

  • West of Here

  • The Insurgents

  • Whiskey School

  • The Sisters

  • Heaven Help Us

  • Black and Blue

  • Bad Girls

  • Funny About Love

  • Heaven's Prisoners

1 of 10

Mary Stuart Masterson Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Jun 28, 1966
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

With short blonde hair and a lean frame, Mary Stuart Masterson has played many tomboys throughout her acting career. Born to director [[Performer~P101656~Peter Masterson~petermasterson]] and actress [[Performer~P27298~Carlin Glynn~carlinglynn]], she made her film debut in [[Feature~V111705~The Stepford Wives~thestepfordwives]] at the age of nine. As a teenager, she appeared on Broadway in Alice in Wonderland and played tough girl Dani in [[Feature~V21980~Heaven Help Us~heavenhelpus]]. She studied anthropology at N.Y.U. and returned to acting in 1987 to star in [[Feature~V45554~Some Kind of Wonderful~somekindofwonderful]] as quintessential '80s tomboy Watt, her most recognizable role. After appearing with her folks in [[Performer~P85868~Francis Ford Coppola~francisfordcoppola]]'s [[Feature~V19240~Gardens of Stone~gardensofstone]] and opposite [[Performer~P19966~Robert Downey Jr.~robertdowneyjr]] in [[Feature~V8877~Chances Are~chancesare]], she played a pregnant woman who gives up her baby to [[Performer~P13725~Glenn Close~glennclose]] and [[Performer~P117297~James Woods~jameswoods]] in [[Feature~V24404~Immediate Family~immediatefamily]]. The '90s saw good roles in successful movies like the ensemble comedy [[Feature~V31556~Married to It~marriedtoit]], the tearjerker [[Feature~V18668~Fried Green Tomatoes~friedgreentomatoes]], and the offbeat romance [[Feature~V4829~Benny & Joon~bennyjoon]]. However, she also appeared in some unsuccessful films like the revisionist Western [[Feature~V131142~Bad Girls~badgirls]] and the sentimental romance [[Feature~V135528~Bed of Roses~bedofroses]]. She then turned to television for a lead in the TV period drama [[Feature~V162161~Lily Dale~lilydale]] (directed by her father) and her own short-lived series, Kate Brasher. In 2000, she married television director [[Performer~P109855~Damon Santostefano~damonsantostefano]] and went on to win a Tony for her work in the Broadway musical revival Nine. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Advertisement