Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Cat People

  • Citizen Kane

1 of 2
At Home
  • Trial

  • Home of the Brave

  • The Inspector

  • The Magnificent Ambersons

  • Avalanche Express

  • The Prize

  • Phffft!

  • Valley of the Dolls

  • Peyton Place

  • The Inn of the Sixth Happiness

1 of 10

Mark Robson Biography

  • Profession: Director, Producer, Editor
  • Born: Dec 4, 1913
  • Died: Jun 20, 1978

Canadian-born Mark Robson began his career in the movie industry in the prop department at 20th Century-Fox, and subsequently joined RKO, where he moved through various departments before settling into editing. He worked with [[Performer~P117119~Robert Wise~robertwise]] on the editing of Orson Welles' [[Feature~V9737~Citizen Kane~citizenkane]], and then, with [[Performer~P117119~Wise~robertwise]], was swept up in the turmoil surrounding [[Performer~P156407~Welles~tgwelles]]' ouster from the studio, and landed a spot as an editor working for Val Lewton's B-movie unit at RKO. Robson (later joined by [[Performer~P117119~Wise~robertwise]]) succeeded [[Performer~P114444~Jacques Tourneur~jacquestourneur]] as Lewton's director for his low budget horror movies -- today regarded as some of the finest pictures ever made by the studio -- including The Ghost Ship and [[Feature~V43874~The Seventh Victim~theseventhvictim]]. RKO's instability finally led to Robson's exit in 1948. He was fortunate to find a berth with independent producer [[Performer~P98064~Stanley Kramer~stanleykramer]], who was about to embark on an ambitious program of film production -- among the movies that Robson got to direct were [[Feature~V8851~Champion~champion]] (1949), one of the most celebrated boxing movies of its era, and [[Feature~V22940~Home of the Brave~homeofthebrave]] (1949). Robson also went to work for [[Performer~P91976~Samuel Goldwyn~samuelgoldwyn]] and directed the underrated, seldom seen dark drama [[Feature~V90300~Edge of Doom~edgeofdoom]] (1950) and the Korean War drama [[Feature~V158961~I Want You~iwantyou]] (1951). He reached his commercial peak soon after, with films such as [[Feature~V7119~The Bridges At Toko-Ri~thebridgesattokori]] (1955); [[Feature~V21565~The Harder They Fall~thehardertheyfall]] (1956), Humphrey Bogart's final film); and [[Feature~V37905~Peyton Place~peytonplace]] (1957), which moved Robson into big-budget, high-profile movies. The Prize (1963), [[Feature~V53017~Von Ryan's Express~vonryansexpress]] (1965), and [[Feature~V52148~Valley of the Dolls~valleyofthedolls]] (1967) were among his most successful films of the 1960s. He seemed to lose his commercial touch after that, although he made a brief comeback -- at least to box office success -- in the 1970s in a production partnership with [[Performer~P150901~Robert Wise,~edyroberts]] with the movie [[Feature~V15140~Earthquake~earthquake]] (1974), a critical and artistic disaster that cleaned up at the box office. ~ Bruce Eder, Rovi

Advertisement