Share
View All

Watch It

In Theaters
  • Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

  • Natural Born Killers

1 of 2
At Home
  • Weather Girl

  • Beyond the Poseidon Adventure

  • Dear America: Letters Home from Vietnam

  • Worth Winning

  • Magic in the Water

  • Summer School

  • Wyatt Earp

  • Chasing Liberty

  • Freaky Friday

  • Local Boys

1 of 10

Mark Harmon Biography

  • Profession: Actor
  • Born: Sep 2, 1951
  • Died: Jan 1, 0001

Actor Mark Harmon is the son of football great Tom Harmon and 1940s film star [[Performer~P38855~Elyse Knox~elyseknox]]; he is the brother of Kris Harmon -- ex-wife of Ricky Nelson -- and uncle of Kris and Ricky's actress daughter [[Performer~P52226~Tracy Nelson~tracynelson]]; and finally, Harmon is the husband of [[Feature~V175191~Mork and Mindy~morkmindy[tvseries]]] star [[Performer~P17472~Pam Dawber~pamdawber]]. Harmon emulated his dad by playing football at UCLA, then followed in mom's footsteps by turning to acting; his first movie was 1978's [[Feature~V10491~Comes a Horseman~comesahorseman]]. Most of Harmon's starring film appearances are easy to take but unmemorable, such as his lackadaisical high-school teacher in [[Feature~V47627~Summer School~summerschool]] (1988). A baseball fan, Harmon was once part-owner of the minor-league San Bernardino Spirit, a team which figured prominently in his 1988 film vehicle [[Feature~V46754~Stealing Home~stealinghome]]. Harmon is best known for his work on 1980s series TV: he has co-starred in [[Feature~V125570~Flamingo Road~flamingoroad]] and Moonlighting, and played the lead role of AIDs-stricken Dr. Bob Calswell on St. Elsewhere. TV would prove to be a source of success for the actor, and he would go on to star on such popular shows as Chicago Hope and NCIS. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Advertisement